GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

TWINtake Impressions

plyhard13

Passed Driver's Ed
EDIT: Updated with pics

Hey all. I got a TWINtake for Christmas but had to wait until just this last weekend to install it. It was such an excruciating wait!

The build quality is first rate. I don't have much experience with the other major intakes, but this one is definitely top notch...solid welds, uniform powder coating, premium hose clamps (more on that later).

The install was fairly straightforward. There are a ton of pieces, but the directions are very concise and easy to follow. The only little wrinkle I noticed was that you have to use the full length of the hose that joins the two pipes together. I wasn't paying close enough attention and got a bit of rubbing against the engine with the twin pipe on the first try.

I don't have any dyno numbers, but the good 'ole butt dyno really felt a difference. I'm not very good at detecting increases like 5-10hp, but I really felt the difference with this one so I don't doubt the 18hp claims.

The sound is absolutely perfect. Not much difference at idle or cruising, but step on the throttle and this baby screams!

Service: It was purchased from ecstuning, and as far as I know they shipped it out pronto with no issues. The girlfriend was worried it wasn't going to make it in time for Christmas since she ordered a bit late...however, it was waiting for me when I got home from work!

Shout out to Forge: As received, it was missing one hose clamp. Not a problem a 2 minute trip to the hardware store can't fix. However, the most expensive hardware store hose clamp felt like a Cracker Jack toy compared to the ones shipped with the TWINtake. I sent a quick PM to Mike@Forge...without any questioning, he fired one off to me the next day (just arrived). It may seem like a little thing, but its that kind of service that brings people back.