GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Just got an 08 GTI

Strieg

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
2008 GTI BPY
Hey all, new here, just bought my first VW, GTI 08, with 60k on the clock. Very happy so far.
Like I said, I'm new with VWs, so I've been reading ALOT to learn as much as possible... Any wisdom that anyone would like to share would be appreciated.

Austin_hull

Für Die Liebe Des Autos
Car(s)
MK5 TR GTI REVO// +
FSI or TSI? If it's FSI, check the cam follower. They're notorious on the FSIs, also, get ready for your timing belt change here in a few thousand miles.

Business out of the way, welcome to VW world!

As far as upgrades go, most people generally recommend an ECU Flash (Revo, APR, DM, etc...) and suspension upgrades first! There's a wealth of info on this forum, and a good majority of any questions can be answered with a quick search. Again, welcome!

Strieg

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
2008 GTI BPY
Been doing a lot of reading on that... FSI/tsi/tfsi.... All I can say for now is engine cover says FSI turbo. Haven't read engine codes yet or anything, but assuming it's the EA113. From other pics I've seen, it matches.

And how does one check the cam follower? And what would I be looking for?
What I'd really like to find is shop manual....

Strieg

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
2008 GTI BPY
And actually, it's going back tomorrow, I noticed it's starting to 'slip'. (DSG)
Like in first gear (in D, S or tiptronic) it lugs a little before actually moving. Like someone driving a regular manual car and doesn't actually know how to drive. Not quite like clutch dumping, but.... Like I said slipping is the best verbage I could think of...
Talked to dealer they said they think the DSG fluid and filter need to be changed....
Any opinions on here?

goneD4rk

Banned
Hey all, new here, just bought my first VW, GTI 08, with 60k on the clock. Very happy so far.