GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Cam Follower...Would you replace this?

zcspec

Ready to race!
Car(s)
MQB S3
This week, I will be upgrading to the APR Stage 2+ setting which includes DP, intake, & HPFP. During the processes of taking out my stock HPFP, I inspected the current cam follower.

Here is what I see...

The questions is...would you guys replace this with the install of the APR HPFP? I can pick up a new OEM follower, but would prefer KMD's follower with Armolgy (which I cant get under next week). BTW, it has 30K miles on it.

adamgti

Trust me, I'm an engineer
Car(s)
07 CW GTI 4 dr
Yes might as well replace it, it's cheap insurance and you've already got some metal on metal contact with that follower, the rest will wear through a bit quicker, especially when stage 2+

adamgti

Trust me, I'm an engineer
Car(s)
07 CW GTI 4 dr
But I'm sure you can get one more week out of that follower, sorry, sort of misunderstood your question, I think that's what you're asking?

Savir04

Ready to race!
Car(s)
07'/CW/6MT/FSI
..Bro trust me change it, I bought my car with 33k on it...one day I randomly pulled out the hpfp and found my cam follower had a hole right thru it, like a gun shot it in the middle, my intake cam was also fuked...I was scared man, my intake cam could've blown up any moment and blah there goes the whole engine..I got luky I have a friend at VW that fixed it for me under warranty, they had to replace the hpfp, the whole intake cam, and cam follower....now I check my cam follower evry 5k and change it every 10-15k depending on wear....I think 15k on a cam follower is pushing it...10k on a cam follower should be enough to change it...I can't stress how important these cam followers are even if your stock....good luck my friend

Chris@RT

Banned