GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

ticking sound in the interior

Hoppo84

Back in Black
Car(s)
R32
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the R32 game. Bought my first MY08 R32 about a month ago. Man, this has got to be the funnest car to drive!! but while sitting at traffic lights I’ve noticed there is this ticking sound inside the cabin now and then. I have absolutely no idea what it would be?! Has anyone experienced this before? Do you think it’s the airconditioning? Any suggestions on what it might be?

Also thinking of getting a stage 1 upgrade. but I’m not sure if this is the first thing I should do. Should I concentrate on the exhaust system first?

Any help would be appreciated :smile:

jaehoppa

i also hear ticking noise coming from the back somewhere...not always...i think more pronounced during cold start...

VancouverGTI

Go Kart Champion
^ What Phil said. If it's during the start of your morning commute and from the back, it's the fuel system pressurizing, apparently. Sounds like a little carpenter hammering away for a few miles, then he should bugger off for the rest of the day.

jshish23

n00b
Car(s)
'08 R32
haha, i have the same issue. If you have a VF intake and you hear a grinding sound from the engine... it is the heat shield flapping back and forth in the engine - it is normal too.

10Ten

Ready to race!
Car(s)
R32
here's what's normal and gets the attention of new owners more than any other noise:

on cold start the fuel system will have a priming function that makes a soft clicking or ticking-like noise coming from the rear passenger side of the car by the fuel inlet. it should only happen when cold, only lasts a couple minutes, and isn't always apparent.

Saabstory

.:R32 OG Member # 002
Car(s)
MKVI Golf TDI 6MT
Another one you'll here sometimes, especially when cold, is the sound of the vents opening and closing in the dash. with the climatronic, all those functions are automatic, but they aren't completely silent...

:wink:

R3Drew

Latex Salesman