GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Suspension Upgrade - Order of Operations

Ignignokt

K04 Bound
Car(s)
'08 Mk5 GTI
Okay. I have all of the parts listed below waiting for me at home. (Mad props, btw, for those of you who helped me pick most of them out.) My question is, what would be the ideal order to install this stuff? I've never done suspension work before, so, I'm trying to prepare as much as I can before attacking it. Any insights into common pitfalls or "gotchas" would be extremely helpful also. I've been going through as many DIYs as I can find, but it never hurts to ask. Right?

I suppose an easy format to suggest a particular order sequence would be something like "FRONT: 3,4,5,1,2,3" "REAR: 5,4,3,2,1".

FRONT
  1. Koni FSD & Eibach Pro spring kit
  2. 034 Strut Mounts (pair w/ bearings and bolts) [034-601-1004-TD]
  3. H&R 26mm front sway bar [70750-26]
  4. Whiteline Adjustable Front Sway Bar End Link - Pair [KLC167A]
  5. TyrolSport DeadSet Rigid Subframe Collar Kit - [TSDSKVW]
  6. SuperPro Performance Control Arms [ALOY0001K]
  7. OEM Ball Joints

REAR
I already have a 24mm H&R rear sway bar installed
  1. Rear Shock Mounts (x2) [1K0513353G]
  2. Whiteline Trailing Arm Bushing Kit [W0504]
  3. Rear Lower Spring Isolaors (x2) [1K0512297D]
  4. Rear Upper Spring Isolaors (x2) [1K0512149B]
  5. Whiteline Adjustable Rear Sway Bar End Link - Pair [KLC141]

xatnys360

Ready to race!
Start with the back - it's the easiest and will inspire confidence during the rest of the project. The only potential trouble you will run into is removing the factory bushings - they are a PITA if you don't have the right tools (hydraulic press).