GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

NYPD

juicedUP

Part of the swole crew
Is anybody here an NYPD Police Officer?

Just curious about that career path and want to ask some questions.

I graduated with a BA in Accounting about a month ago and got a job as a IT Financial Coordinator. I work from 9-6 and have a 1 hour lunch break.

I dont know if I can see myself sitting behind a desk all day for the rest of my life. I have 2 very close friends who are cops in paterson, nj. They tell me their stories all the time and it seems like something I might be interested in. I like being hands on and on the move.

Base salary for NYPD starting this year is $43k with a top-out of 90k after 5.5 years not including overtime. Plus unlimited promotional opportunities.

Just dabbling in this topic and seeing my options. Any help is appreciated. :thumbup:

argue53

Go Kart Champion
i'm in your same situation.... my co-worker is taking the exam the 14 or 15th (can't remember). I grew up in Paterson so I know the cops have their handful. I actually lived in North Haledon (if you know the area) and would love to be a police officer in a small town like that.

awb17x

WHEEL Slayer
Car(s)
2006 GTI
NYPD is always looking for people. Just be ready for shitty hours as a boot.

juicedUP

Part of the swole crew
Whats shitty hours?

For example... My friends in paterson have a 4-day on 4-day off split.

they work 11hr shifts an have a 45 min lunch break with 2 15 minute personal breaks.

Is that what you mean by shitty? I would love to have a 4-day on and 4-day off. They love it. Is that how it is there?

clutch fool

OG MUFF DIVER
Car(s)
MK5 GTI 1st Owner
NYPD??? go the the burbs and become a police officer. more money and less chance of being shot.

juicedUP

Part of the swole crew
its not that easy. Both my friends tried it and said its hard because they take Military veterans first and then transfers. They say the best is to go to the hood first then transfer after a year or so

Sixgunz