GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

ECS Hatch Pop Kit (updated version)

ClarkThaShark

First let me apologize for any mistakes as this is my first time creating a thread, but I wanted to start a new one because most of the ECS hatch pop threads are dated.

To keep it short I just bought a 2011 platinum grey MKVI TDI. As this is my first "you got out of college, got a job, and bought a used german car," I am extreamly excited about modifying my TDI and make it my own.

The first think I choose to do was buy the ECS Hatch Pop Kit. I feel like I've read over 20 threads related to the kit from tdiclub to vwvortex and agree that it is super easy to install. My problem was that when I first hit the open button, the rear lid opened rather quickly and the last 6 inches of travel were unsurpassed by the strut causing it to stop very abruptly. This is not only loud but sends a noticeable shake through the car. I posted a video of this to youtube (see below link).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MFWoUscMxXs&feature=youtu.be

This opening sequence is nothing like video links that other’s have posted about their ECS Pop Hatch kits like the one below.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6cRD2w863as

I thought I had done something wrong but after watching the install videos again and reading the .pdf instruction I email ECS and got the following:

"We now use a stiffer/stronger hatch strut in the rear. In the past they would not pop open all of the time, especially in the cold. We found struts that handle this a lot better. Unfortunately it seems they are giving you the issue that you are experiencing.”

Unfortunately another issue caused by these stiffer/stronger struts is how much heavier the hatch now is. I not out of shape but it really takes two hands to close it all the way.

I do want to say that ECS has been very helpful and responded quickly to my inquiries by both e-mail and phone, but this personally is just not be the right kit for me.

Shwizzle

Ready to race!