GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

dsg shifting questions

VdaWg

FIA World Rally Car Champion
I'm new to this dsg and shifting in general, can someone tell me the proper way of using the dsg shifters. I use it but I don't know if I'm using it correctly, let's say i'm going 75 mph on 5thgear and I want to make a quick pass I usually shift down a gear and watch the rev's go up and shift back up to 5th. Would that be correct technique? Is the car doing it's thing when the revs go up from shifting down and matching when you shift up? Also questions on downshifting if i'm going 85-90 mph on 5th/6th gear and i see a stop light 300-500 feet ahead and i quickly shift down to let's say 4th/3rd gear not using brakes I know the revs will go up but is it natural and safe for the dsg tranny to do that?

bilbos

On the Kop
When using the paddles, I try to drive the car as if I were driving a manual. If you want to pass, then as you said, just drop a gear and do so. The DSG is very flexible. It will only intervene if you are redlining it or it thinks the car is about to stall at which point it will either change up or down, respectively.
For example, if you were in 6th and were approaching a red light, and manually shift down, then the DSG will only drop to a gear that is safely within the rev limits, probably 3rd, depending on your speed.

Teknophreak

Rally Car Champion
Downshifting for improved acceleration is correct technique. (assuming the next lowest gear won't redline the engine) The tranny should not be used as a braking system. If you're going 90 and need to stop, you shouldn't be downshifting to 3rd without using the brakes to slow the vehicle first.

If you're not familiar with shifting in general, maybe try putting it into auto mode and paying attention to how the computer shifts gears. From your post, it sounds like you're being too aggressive with your shifting.

VdaWg