GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

About VCDS.

iSuckAtThis

Passed Driver's Ed
Quick question about using VCDS.
I have very little knowledge about this, tried to do some research but couldn't find what I was looking for.
If I wanted to code something say for example, activating the OEM rear view camera on an aftermarket HU ( RCD330). Would it work if I was to buy any cable that connects the car to a laptop, and download the free vcds software? Or do I have to buy these expensive ross-tech cables with the software to work?

This is the cable I'm thinking of buying:

https://uae.souq.com/ae-en/usb-inte...c-auto-car-scanner-scan-tool-cable-6927194/i/

And this is the software ( this is free, isn't it? )

http://www.ross-tech.com/vcds-lite/download/index.php

sterkrazzy

Autocross Champion
I can't tell if you can or not.

http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/vag-functions.html The code modules are what you're looking for. It says Yes for Code Modules, but No for Code Slave Modules, and I'm not sure if you need the Code Slave Modules for what you're doing or not.

Last edited:

sterkrazzy

Autocross Champion
But isn't the unregistered version of vcds lite free?

I was looking at it wrong, see my edit above. Looks like the registered version unlocks some extra things with vcds lite, but in your case it's either going to work with the unregistered version or not at all. I just don't know enough about it to know if you need the slave module or not.

Last edited:

iSuckAtThis

Passed Driver's Ed
I was looking at it wrong, see my edit above. Looks like the registered version unlocks some extra things with vcds lite, but in your case it's either going to work with the unregistered version or not at all. I just don't know enough about it to know if you need the slave module or not.

Oh I see.
What a pickle. :mad0259:
What do you recommend me doing?

Last edited:

Madhav

Passed Driver's Ed