GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

MkV Roof Antenna

Donald32

Backseat Driver
I'm new to the GTI/R32 scene and a little confused with the different roof antennae - the black stubby one (like BMW and Benz) and the other typical and longer antenna. Does Australia's Golfs only come in the latter? Thanks Donald

Tiny Gti

Banned
Car(s)
05 GTI MKV DSG 5DR
I'm new to the GTI/R32 scene and a little confused with the different roof antennae - the black stubby one (like BMW and Benz) and the other typical and longer antenna. Does Australia's Golfs only come in the latter? Thanks Donald

Hi Donald,

The short stubby antenna's are for the sat-nav (pic below), the long thin antenna's are non sat-nav, and you will also see some models with no antenna which is due to the antenna being incorporated into the rear window for the non sat-nav models pre 06 when they changed to the roof mounted long thin ones. Some people have also changed their long antenna's to an aftermarket shorter one (pic below).

OEM Shark Fin Style Sat-Nav Antenna

Aftermarket Shorter Slim Line Antenna

Cheers:drinking:

Tiny.........

Last edited:

Donald32

Backseat Driver
Thanks TG. Much appreciated. Do you know where I could find one of the short aerials? Cheers Donald

Kirium

Go Kart Champion
eBay

Remember that your radio reception will go from bad to worse...

ApexTwin

expert knob twiddler
Do you know what the reception was like with the original rear window antenna?
I think i've seen this kit for sale as a retro-fit somewhere - Blaupunkt if i'm not mistaken. :confused:

Tiny Gti

Banned
Car(s)
05 GTI MKV DSG 5DR
Thanks TG. Much appreciated. Do you know where I could find one of the short aerials? Cheers Donald

Hi Donald,