GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

How Do You Maintain Your W/M Kit?

FastersBetter

Ready to race!
I have been using W/M for two years now but have never done anything to maintain it. It was set and forgotten. I use tap water for the mix and now starting to worry that at some point the nozzle will clog with mineral deposits and since I'm running the 100 oct map..... I fear spray failure. But what else do you do to maintain? Do you verify pump effectiveness? What kind of life should we expect before failure? 100k miles? 200k miles?

Please weigh in with your maintenance regime. I saw a Snow Perfomance vid showing how to clean nozzles. If reps from AEM or Snow can weigh in it would be great to hear your perspectives.

Thanks for the thoughts and responses.

T0neyDanza

Banned
Car(s)
2007 4 door GTI
I checked my nozzle after a year. I ran distilled water for a while, then just switched to tap water. No issues so far. I will still check it yearly though.

BAMF

Ready to race!
If you're concerned, why not pull the nozzle out and run something through the system to clean it? I'd think white vinegar would be safe, then follow it with distilled water to flush the remainder out.

Tmsracing37

Boosty McFlamin Job
Car(s)
06 GTI
I checked my nozzle after a year. I ran distilled water for a while, then just switched to tap water. No issues so far. I will still check it yearly though.

X2, once a year I pull the nozzle and spray it with carb cleaner.

FastersBetter

Ready to race!
I'm going to soak the nozzle in lime away this spring for peace of mind. I read a few horror stories lately and LaBonte is not getting me a new motor if the W/M system fails on the 100 oct map...

sloMk5

2007 GTI
I would log to make sure you're still getting a good distribution across all cylinders and clean the nozzle as needed like everyone else mentioned.

vegasGTI

Go Kart Champion