GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Help with CAI & Exhaust Upgrades

Morrow

Hi folks,

I'm still fairly new to my GTI but have decided I wanted to perform a few mods to it.

I was thinking of adding a Cold Air Intake with a new Exhaust System. Now, I know cheaping out on either will only hurt performance than help, so this is where you all come in. I was hoping some of you had some suggestions of what to go with.

CAI: Looking at the current air intake on this car, it's practically already a CAI without the standard air box, pulling air right from the grill through the engine cover filter. I could see how a cheap aftermarket CAI on this car could actually be a step backwards.

Exhaust: I've never upgraded an exhaust system before so this is where I need true guidance. Should I start at the header and go right to the muffler? I must note, I only have access to a hoist a few times a year, so this may be worth letting the shop do, thoughts?

What I'm looking for: I'm looking for more low end torque than anything. As for sound, something aggressive but on the lower end of the spectrum, I don't want to wake up the whole neighbourhood when I go out at night.

On another note; at one point I was truly pondering the idea of getting the ECU flashed but I eventually decided against it. I was worried if I got it flashed I would start chasing my tail around repairing / having to upgrade elsewhere. Anyone with flash experience that could provide me with some feedback?

Just trying to gather as much information as I can and to soak up some experienced knowledge from everyone here, so any suggestions or comments are welcome!

Thanks in advance!

joelmlmkv

Ready to race!
The intakes on a stock motor really are for sound and aesthetics to be honest, IMHO.