GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Thinking about trading 2017 Civic Si for new GTI

galaxy

I am from 09 Si and have 06 GTI manual now, both stock without mods.
I only missed the v-Tech (WOW) kick-in at high rev in Si, especially you downshift to bring up the rev for top power, and the feeling of sudden pulling. it was fun, but I guess 17 Si does not have the v-tech. Heel-toe is easier. I drove 2 door that I can only fit one hockey bag in the trunk .
I like GTI higher torque for faster start-up and lower rev to gain the top power for steady and smooth acceleration. It is comfortable ride. You feel it more sturdy comparing to Si on highway . I can fit two hockey bags with flip down the back seats.

thegman1234

Ready to race!
Car(s)
MK7.5 Golf SE
Appreciate that! Our hockey carpool is 3 guys, 3 hockey bags, and 6 sticks. In the Civic we do two bags in the trunk, one in the backseat, and then sticks running from the back seat into the passenger footwell...

I’ve got some experience here, so I’ll chime in.

I recently traded in my MK6.5 Jetta for a MK7.5 Golf and I absolutely love it. I‘ve had a Beetle and a couple Jettas over the years and I loved those cars, but I’ve always wanted a true hatchback. However, going from a sedan to a hatchback, there’s a noticeable change in cargo management. Although the Golf/GTI has significantly more vertical cargo space, it’s noticeably more narrow and shallow when compared to a something like a Jetta. And, while you‘ll likely have no trouble with the bags as the seats split 60/40, the Golf is fairly short so you may have some trouble with the sticks.