GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Questions from a n00b

jedipherous

Just finished watching Fast&Fuzzynuts
Firstly: I've never bought a new car. Never had payments. My last two cars have been cheap and used (91 Dodge Shadow Conv: 98-02, 98 Ford ZX2: 02-)

Secondly: I made the mistake of driving a GTI. By mistake I mean that I am now madly in love with this car and I want one as soon as bleeping possible (gotcha ;)). I find the GTI to be a wonderfully well rounded vehicle and it is good to see it come back (and that torque..mmm)

Thirdly: I'm a newbie, so go easy :)

So, I'm reading alot about the car buying process. I recently learned about buying at invoice as that is how my g/f bought her 02 Jetta - she paid $75 over invoice. I'd like to do the same - pay very little over invoice, as that means less to save up :D.

Ideally, I'd like to finance over 36months, but saving up enough may prove a lengthy process. 48 months is doable and I won't rule that out.

I notice that VW has some APR incentives up now which run through 7/4/06. I am very confident I will not have anything close to a substantial down payment by then.

Then there's this possibility: Putting some money down using a 0% APR credit card. I fear credit card debt - I've only carried a balance once in 4yrs of my credit history and I really didn't like doing it.

So, finally we get to the question - Get some self discipline and save some cash, or buckle under the desire for a GTI and snag a 0%apr card and put a chunk down on that...

your thoughts would be appreciated, and excuse my rambling.

cjsuh

Passed Driver's Ed
I vote for self-discipline.