GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

A Professional's Guide to Detailing

Stranded in Daytona

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
06 2 door TR GTI
There seem to be a lot of questions regarding how to properly clean and detail our vehicles. I have been working as a VW/BMW Detailer for 2 1/2 years in Florida, so I figured I would do a complete write up on how to do a full and complete Detail job. But let me say in writing this, I am not responsible for any damage to your cars if you follow my write up.

Materials Needed
Microfiber Towels (4-5)
Cotton Towels (5-6)
Wax Applicator
Liquid Wax
Windex
Window Towels
Car Soap
Laquer Thinner (NOT TO BE CONFUSED WITH PAINT THINNER)
Clay Bar Kit
Vacuum

Exterior Wash/Detail

Engine

This is usually the first place to start on a full detail. Pop the hood and examine the engine bay, if it's only dusty then water will do fine, if it seems pretty nasty feel free to use some soap and water in the jams, or even spray a diluted degreaser onto the really nasty parts. Then take your water hose or pressure washer and spray out the engine bay. Of course, do not spray directly into any open electrical areas, but luckily, our engine bays are pretty covered. Don't forget to spray the hood underside. once you spray off all the soap/dirt, just shut the hood. I promise the car will start, and if it doesn't for some fluke reason, just wait a while for the engine bay to dry and it will then.

Washing

First, start off by Spraying the car down to remove excess dirt. Get a bucket with some good soap and water and use the Microfiber towels to wash your gti, but be careful.. Make sure you don't rub in sand or dirt into the paint b/c you will scratch it. But wash the entire car with the microfiber towels with soap and water. Rinse the car off of all the soap. If the car is extremely dirty, and has things stuck to it such as road tar or other things of that nature, please see the section titled Clay Bar.

Clay Bar