GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Warranty Question

DonHowson

Ready to race!
Car(s)
2009 GTI
What has been your experience of late with VW voiding warranties?

The fuel pump gave out on my 2009 GTI after 22k miles. I have an intake, oil catch can, down pipe, and APR flash (which they might not know about.)

Service Advisor says this automatically voids my warranty. My understanding is they show some connection between the mods and whatever failed.

I haven't yet spoken to VW myself. Wanted to get your input first.

Thanks.

.../don

adamgti

Trust me, I'm an engineer
Car(s)
07 CW GTI 4 dr
It varies widely between dealers. I've had one dealer refuse to look at my brakes because of my suspension mods, and another dealer completely ignore all my engine mods when working on the engine. My suggestion is to try to find another dealer, maybe using the regional forums here, that is more mod friendly. Do you have the APR stock program and lockout option? I would definitely use those if you have them.

VWCASH

Ready to race!
Car(s)
MKV GTI 2007
TSI have fuel pump problems too replace them all the time with the UPDATED PART!!! Tell the adviser to EAT A DICK!!!

lightningjack

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
09 GTI
They do need to show that a mod directly affected the part in question. You can try another dealer as some are more mod friendly than others. You could replace the fp yourself too.

Is this an FSI or TSI? Did your intake involve removing or alter the location of the MAF?

DUB2OT

Banned
fuel pump went bad on 09 GTI? are you FSI or TSI?
try another mod friendly dealer.

tampa_mk5

zungguzungguguzungguzeng
Car(s)
TSI have fuel pump problems too replace them all the time with the UPDATED PART!!! Tell the adviser to EAT A DICK!!!

Find this concerning as until reading this I had thought the TSI fuel pump was holding up fine even in K04 applications, 3 questions:

How many have you had to replace (estimate)?

Can you share the updated part #?