GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

knocking noise after ST-XTA coilovers install (NOT MKV CONTENT)

GTI 2.0T

Rally Car Champion
Car(s)
mkv GTI
hi guys, sorry about posting here but since the mk7 still didn't hit the states there are not many people with dropped MK7s and i thought the coilover experience might be the same? so i thought i could get some insight from my mkv friends

I'm a total newb when it come to coilovers, this is the first time i ever have coilovers :help:

there is a knocking noise from one side only (front right side). when it first was installed it happened a lot. every time i hit the brakes or accelerate at low speeds i hear the knock. i took it back to the mechanic who installed it and he assured me that everything is ok and the car might need to settle on the new setup.

now (3 days after the install) the knocking noise is a lot less and only happens the first time i turn the steering wheel after a cold start and maybe once or twice during the day but not as loud as it used to. there is also no knocking whatsoever when turning the steering wheel left to right or right to left

is this normal? should i be worried?

oh and here she is :)

steveo17

Frankenbuilt
Car(s)
2006 CW GTI
soo you're just trying to brag to us about how you have a beautiful brand new mk7 huh?

beautiful car make it looks awesome

coils generally take a month or so to settle so you still have a ways to go with that.

the knock you hear could it be the springs compressing? another thing might be the strut towers. when my coils were installed the first time...the person that did it wasn't quiet paying attention and had cut the upper strut mount "lip" off that is supposed to sit inside the spring and i got constant "popping" binding sounds when i turned the steering wheel because it was kinda sliding around on the spring. not sure if this is what you're experiencing?

GTI 2.0T

Rally Car Champion
Car(s)
mkv GTI