GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

AudioControl DQL-8 / LC6i ?

Sterling

Steel Tip
Car(s)
S3
Hey guys. looking for some help / tips from people who know a lot more about car audio than me. quite frankly i have no clue what to get and im a total noob. :yikes:

I'm trying to get my system to sound a lot better with the stock HU and speakers, while adding a subwoofer.

so far i have (uninstalled):
Audio Integrations 10" enclosure.
JL 10w3v3
JL slash 250.1

will either of the AudioControl units help me get a much better sound from the HU / speakers while also being the best way to add the sub to the sound system?

I'm also considering about picking up a JL Slash 300.2 to power the front speakers, if it will make a considerable difference.

any help / suggestions are GREATLY appreciated. I'm not really sure what i need to do / get, and any advice will help me out. thank you.

Cybe

GolfMK5 Graduate
Car(s)
89, 97 Jetta, 07 GTI
If you want to amplify the factory speakers, you'll need to ditch the factory headunit.

If you just want to add a subwoofer, you'll need an LOC, for 'Line Out Converter.' It taps into the factory amplified signal and produces a line-level signal (which you'd feed the amp.)

Only caveat here is that I don't know if the factory headunit has an integrated highpass filter, or to what frequency it's set. If the headunit doesn't feed the full range of audio to the door (cutting off the lowest sub frequencies to avoid killing the puny doorspeakers, for example), you'll have nothing to amplify.

I'm of the opinion that if you want to make a real improvement, do the headunit. It's what stands between you and the ability to amplify / equalize the rest of the system.

06 MKV GTI

So many plans for mod's