GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV


  VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com


 
Register
MYGOLF garage
Timeslips
Search
Members List
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Go Back   VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com > Regional Forums > California


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2019, 04:58 PM   #1
Dagger1120
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: Just a normal GTI looking to h
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: CA
Posts: 35
Help please

I know this is a stupid question but I got new tires and my tire pressure light is on Iíve tried finding videos but I canít get it for my car I have an 08 GTI MK5 how do I reset this light


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dagger1120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 06:36 PM   #2
gti2slow
Formula 5000 Driver
 
gti2slow's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 GTI UG 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 1,680
Drive a few feet, if the TPMS battery died or it was damaged you will have a problem
__________________
Driver Motorsport K04+ | RFD | EJ FMIC | EJ 3" Turboback | Peloquin LSD | SRE clutch
Neuspeed P-Flo | IE catch can | Brembo 17z BBK | Neuspeed RSe12 | RB 2-piece rotors
.:R32 Rear bumper | Votex lip | Koni coilovers | RCD510 | S3 short shifter | APR HPFP
gti2slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 09:20 PM   #3
golfballer78
FIA GT Newbie
 
golfballer78's Avatar
 
Drives: 08'.:R32
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: southbay CA.
Posts: 732
If a sensor is dying the tire light will flash for a bit before staying solid. Or if you have a leak with new tires, possible the shop didn’t tighten the union nuts on the sensors so it’s a slow leak. I had both problems.
golfballer78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 01:42 AM   #4
707Stang
I'm Hella From Nor*Cal
 
707Stang's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 .:R32, 69 Mustang 5.0
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,335
Recently I had my light stuck on and would not turn off, no matter how much I drove even if I had the air up to 45-50 psi. I ended up pulling each valve core out, completely deflating each tire 1 by 1 and reinflating, by the time I put the air line away the light turned off.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
AWE-Forge-GIAC-Neuspeed-ECS-Eibach-EBC.... 220whp-250wtq §§no more§§
#4982 CW .:R32- stock- -
707Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 02:30 AM   #5
golfballer78
FIA GT Newbie
 
golfballer78's Avatar
 
Drives: 08'.:R32
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: southbay CA.
Posts: 732
I hate the federally mandated nanny state tire sensor nonsense. The newer version where it’s indirect using wheel speed sensors makes more sense then those stupid rim mounted ones that could leak/ be expensive to replace when they die or some dipshit tire shop breaks them.
golfballer78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 08:47 AM   #6
Dagger1120
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: Just a normal GTI looking to h
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: CA
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by golfballer78 View Post
I hate the federally mandated nanny state tire sensor nonsense. The newer version where itís indirect using wheel speed sensors makes more sense then those stupid rim mounted ones that could leak/ be expensive to replace when they die or some dipshit tire shop breaks them.


Iím really hoping they didnít break them


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dagger1120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 09:59 AM   #7
clownish
just clowning around
 
clownish's Avatar
 
Drives: Mk5 R32
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 373
You can use VAGCOM to code out the tpms sensors - theyíll be turned off entirely and you can just check your tire pressure like normal. Itís a two stage process - one to turn off the sensors and one to turn off the error light on the dash. I did it, popped in normal valve stems on all my wheel sets and have never been happier. I also have about 16 tpms sensors laying around that I should probably throw away. The seals and everything are absolutely bad after all this time.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
clownish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 11:26 AM   #8
GIACUser
Master Wallet Mechanic
 
GIACUser's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 UG EFR7163
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by clownish View Post
You can use VAGCOM to code out the tpms sensors - theyíll be turned off entirely and you can just check your tire pressure like normal. Itís a two stage process - one to turn off the sensors and one to turn off the error light on the dash. I did it, popped in normal valve stems on all my wheel sets and have never been happier. I also have about 16 tpms sensors laying around that I should probably throw away. The seals and everything are absolutely bad after all this time.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
X2
__________________
2008 GTI EFR7163
GIACUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 11:43 AM   #9
Dagger1120
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: Just a normal GTI looking to h
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: CA
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by clownish View Post
You can use VAGCOM to code out the tpms sensors - theyíll be turned off entirely and you can just check your tire pressure like normal. Itís a two stage process - one to turn off the sensors and one to turn off the error light on the dash. I did it, popped in normal valve stems on all my wheel sets and have never been happier. I also have about 16 tpms sensors laying around that I should probably throw away. The seals and everything are absolutely bad after all this time.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


How much is VAGCOM Iíve heard of it but never looked into it whatís it exactly do Iím new to the GTI life


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dagger1120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 11:56 AM   #10
Dagger1120
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: Just a normal GTI looking to h
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: CA
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by clownish View Post
You can use VAGCOM to code out the tpms sensors - theyíll be turned off entirely and you can just check your tire pressure like normal. Itís a two stage process - one to turn off the sensors and one to turn off the error light on the dash. I did it, popped in normal valve stems on all my wheel sets and have never been happier. I also have about 16 tpms sensors laying around that I should probably throw away. The seals and everything are absolutely bad after all this time.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Iíve heard you can do really cool stuff with it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dagger1120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 12:16 PM   #11
GIACUser
Master Wallet Mechanic
 
GIACUser's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 UG EFR7163
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagger1120 View Post
Iíve heard you can do really cool stuff with it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/

Have a read. If you are a do-it-yourselfer, just buy one, very useful when it comes to diagnosing problems. It will give you info on error codes, allow you to clear them and you can get detailed info by looking through the vagcom forum and googling the error codes.

You can also adjust various settings that turn on and off many features.

Used mine for years and it has become best investment in GTI ownership.
__________________
2008 GTI EFR7163
GIACUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 06:59 PM   #12
somerset9
Drag Racing Champion
 
Drives: 2007 UG GTI
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
I recently did this with my bootleg VAGCOM cable. It's a $50 unit that must be used with the wi-fi turned off haha!
somerset9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 07:34 PM   #13
Dagger1120
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: Just a normal GTI looking to h
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: CA
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by GIACUser View Post
http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/



Have a read. If you are a do-it-yourselfer, just buy one, very useful when it comes to diagnosing problems. It will give you info on error codes, allow you to clear them and you can get detailed info by looking through the vagcom forum and googling the error codes.



You can also adjust various settings that turn on and off many features.



Used mine for years and it has become best investment in GTI ownership.


Sweet thank you !!! Also another question since youíve been very helpful do you know any ECU or plug n play ECU to run anti lag ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dagger1120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 09:59 PM   #14
gti2slow
Formula 5000 Driver
 
gti2slow's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 GTI UG 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 1,680
I think there is Eurodyne Maestro map with anti-lag
__________________
Driver Motorsport K04+ | RFD | EJ FMIC | EJ 3" Turboback | Peloquin LSD | SRE clutch
Neuspeed P-Flo | IE catch can | Brembo 17z BBK | Neuspeed RSe12 | RB 2-piece rotors
.:R32 Rear bumper | Votex lip | Koni coilovers | RCD510 | S3 short shifter | APR HPFP
gti2slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 10:19 PM   #15
Dagger1120
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: Just a normal GTI looking to h
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: CA
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by gti2slow View Post
I think there is Eurodyne Maestro map with anti-lag


Iíll look now !!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dagger1120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 09:11 AM   #16
Dagger1120
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: Just a normal GTI looking to h
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: CA
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by gti2slow View Post
I think there is Eurodyne Maestro map with anti-lag


Any idea which one it is I looked it up for my car but thereís no real details on what it does it says stage one stage 2 and ko4 and stage 3


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dagger1120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 09:53 AM   #17
clownish
just clowning around
 
clownish's Avatar
 
Drives: Mk5 R32
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagger1120 View Post
How much is VAGCOM Iíve heard of it but never looked into it whatís it exactly do Iím new to the GTI life


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


The website he linked is the official and I fully support them. Iíd add that you can access nearly anything a dealer can diagnosis or do to your car with vagcom including flashing the ecu and changing almost any software setting - disable abs, turn off airbags... not recommended, swap from NA settings to ROW settings etc. not just the simple stuff like make your horn beep 3 times when it unlocks or roll down your windows with your key fob.

Also you can find used cables floating around pretty frequently. Older versions are VIN unlimited but the newer ones are more updated for newer models therefore more expensive. I have a hexcan cable thatís a few years old and itís been fine for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
clownish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 09:56 AM   #18
clownish
just clowning around
 
clownish's Avatar
 
Drives: Mk5 R32
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 373
Speak of the devil

This is on golfmk6 tho




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
clownish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 10:00 AM   #19
Dagger1120
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: Just a normal GTI looking to h
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: CA
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by clownish View Post
The website he linked is the official and I fully support them. Iíd add that you can access nearly anything a dealer can diagnosis or do to your car with vagcom including flashing the ecu and changing almost any software setting - disable abs, turn off airbags... not recommended, swap from NA settings to ROW settings etc. not just the simple stuff like make your horn beep 3 times when it unlocks or roll down your windows with your key fob.

Also you can find used cables floating around pretty frequently. Older versions are VIN unlimited but the newer ones are more updated for newer models therefore more expensive. I have a hexcan cable thatís a few years old and itís been fine for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Are they vehicle specific the wires ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dagger1120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 10:57 AM   #20
clownish
just clowning around
 
clownish's Avatar
 
Drives: Mk5 R32
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 373
Theyíll list the vehicles it works with - generally itís a wide range of cars by generation. Eg - the mini can should work with mk4-mk6 for sure. And most Audis in the same generation. Not sure about older or newer tbh since I have a mk5 and a mk6.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
clownish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 11:04 AM   #21
Dagger1120
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: Just a normal GTI looking to h
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: CA
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by clownish View Post
Theyíll list the vehicles it works with - generally itís a wide range of cars by generation. Eg - the mini can should work with mk4-mk6 for sure. And most Audis in the same generation. Not sure about older or newer tbh since I have a mk5 and a mk6.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Thank you for the help !!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dagger1120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.