GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV


  VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com


 
Register
MYGOLF garage
Timeslips
Search
Members List
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Go Back   VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com > Technical Discussions > Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust



Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2019, 02:10 PM   #45
vwengineer
FIA World Rally Car Newbie
 
vwengineer's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf 5 GTI (stock AXX)
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 451
Yes, but cans are more for a rough top up because you need to properly pull a near complete vacuum on the system for at least half an hour to get the humidity out. When doing so, some oil will get out of the system and you should measure and refill that amount also. If you go the cans route, make sure that they do not contain any sealant.
vwengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 02:48 PM   #46
GTI's
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2008 GTI Z4Z4 P03 PIP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by easy87 View Post
Man, you guys are truly incredible with the info! Looks like its gonna be a fun time! When re-charging from cans, I assume you just take it off when you feel you are close and weigh it to verify how much has been put in?
Something about using Cans and "Planning on evacuating/vacuuming/dying the system this weekend to see what crops up" is just not right, seems you are planning on venting to atmosphere. Not good or legal.
GTI's is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 03:05 PM   #47
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
Are cans not what is normally used? Again, my knowledge on this is short. And no, despite my limited knowledge I know the illegality of it at least! Do you guys normally use something bigger than the cans?

And just to be clear, this is the can I am referring to
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 04:47 PM   #48
GTI's
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2008 GTI Z4Z4 P03 PIP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by easy87 View Post
Are cans not what is normally used? Again, my knowledge on this is short. And no, despite my limited knowledge I know the illegality of it at least! Do you guys normally use something bigger than the cans?

And just to be clear, this is the can I am referring to
Usually when the term evacuate is used it means your going to use an AC service station to remove refrigerant and those usually have 30lbs tank.
GTI's is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 05:00 PM   #49
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
No, not quite that professional. But he does have a huge tank he uses. Basically runs a shop out of his garage on weekends, lol. Huge VW head as well.
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 06:10 PM   #50
GTI's
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2008 GTI Z4Z4 P03 PIP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 968
Ok then he should be able to deal with using cans to charge the system back to spec.........just not a lot of wiggle room to get the charge weight spot on with a +25grams or .80 oz difference.
GTI's is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 07:47 PM   #51
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
I believe in him! I am more concerned with what we find after the charge, honestly.
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 08:11 PM   #52
GTI's
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2008 GTI Z4Z4 P03 PIP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 968
Sad thing would be that it has nothing to do with the refrigerant but some issue with a module. That's why a complete scan is so handy.
GTI's is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 08:49 PM   #53
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTI's View Post
Sad thing would be that it has nothing to do with the refrigerant but some issue with a module. That's why a complete scan is so handy.
I know I am actually now looking at getting that OBDEleven to see how that goes. Looks about the same, can long code, and it's hella cheaper
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 09:10 PM   #54
GTI's
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2008 GTI Z4Z4 P03 PIP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 968
The person that's coming over the weekend that is a VW head does not have a proper scan tool to check before the work begins??

OBDeleven does cost less money and does a lot of things but I see that it does not have the support that Vcds has. A new basic Vcds can be had for $200 and used unlimited VIN for $100-$150. OBDeleven is like what close to $100 for the pro/upgrade version?
GTI's is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 10:11 PM   #55
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
Unfortunately not. He has only had older stuff and got by with vcds lite. Looks like $80 for the pro version. I did try a few of those contacts in my area on that map link, but nobody responded.
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 06:58 PM   #56
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
Boooooo.... So same numbers on the climatronic from before. Trying to fill it and it's pulling the freon in hella slow. Filling pressures are about 80. No compressor kicking on, no fans starting.
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 07:31 PM   #57
GTI's
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2008 GTI Z4Z4 P03 PIP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 968
I have in the past used a container with warm water in it and placed the bottom of the can in the container to get the gas to flow out faster. Sometime I needed to change the water out because it will get cold.
GTI's is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 09:15 PM   #58
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
He tried that, but it essentially just balanced out around 80psi on hi/lo. Couldn't get any more to take. Wound up putting in only about 140g of freezy fluid. At no point did either he fan or compressor kick on, which is why I assume it wouldn't take more. If the solenoid was not working, would that cause this issue? Or since the compressor is getting the "run fast!" signal, it should be working? Makes me think the compressor is toast.
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 12:31 PM   #59
vwengineer
FIA World Rally Car Newbie
 
vwengineer's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf 5 GTI (stock AXX)
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 451
But did you pull a vacuum? And then put only 140g??? When they did mine, the engine was off for the whole process and they put 530g in (with an AC service station, so I don't know if the machine put an additional pressure)
vwengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 12:34 PM   #60
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by vwengineer View Post
But did you pull a vacuum? And then put only 140g??? When they did mine, the engine was off for the whole process and they put 530g in.
Yes sir! Pulled a vacuum of about 20mmHg. We shut off the vacuum, and let it sit for about 15 min to verify the vacuum held. No leaking noticed there. After that, we turned the car on, a/c full blast and tried to fill. Barely moving. Tried turning the car off as well. It just would not take. We pet it go for a good 15 minutes and didn't even get through half a can.
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 12:41 PM   #61
vwengineer
FIA World Rally Car Newbie
 
vwengineer's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf 5 GTI (stock AXX)
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 451
Ok, so yeah maybe there is a problem with the compressor. Even with 140g you should at least see the evaporator temp drop some degrees. Mine had less left and still managed to produce some weak cold, not enough to cool the car but enough to be noticed
vwengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 12:45 PM   #62
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
Is there any way short of replacing the thing to verify it is the compressor? Or do I need the vcds for that?
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 12:51 PM   #63
vwengineer
FIA World Rally Car Newbie
 
vwengineer's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf 5 GTI (stock AXX)
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 451
I am pretty sure VCDS will not show faults because the duty cycle of the compressor was 82, it means the climatronic at least tries to run the compressor at full power, so it's probably not in some sort of safe mode. But if you could scan the car that would obviously be the best first step.

As you have the ability to evacuate the system, you can try to replace the solenoid as a second step (not sure how it fails exactly, but if it broke, maybe it is still moving, just not moving the parts it has to and so the system do not see it as a fault). It's easy to do, the only difficulty is that you have to remove the refrigerant first.
vwengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 04:12 PM   #64
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
Forgot to mention, just took the readings and the differences were in red. See pic.

Didn't see it come up so here's another link Numbers https://imgur.com/a/tQSXi3C

For reference, it was around 70

Last edited by easy87; 03-18-2019 at 04:46 PM.
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 04:15 PM   #65
vwengineer
FIA World Rally Car Newbie
 
vwengineer's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf 5 GTI (stock AXX)
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 451
No pic
vwengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 04:26 PM   #66
GTI's
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2008 GTI Z4Z4 P03 PIP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 968


https://imgur.com/a/tQSXi3C

Last edited by GTI's; 03-18-2019 at 04:47 PM.
GTI's is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.