GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV


  VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com


 
Register
MYGOLF garage
Timeslips
Search
Members List
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Go Back   VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com > Regional Forums > Australia


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2012, 02:04 AM   #1
NahbutsGTI
EUROTHRASH
 
NahbutsGTI's Avatar
 
Drives: MkV TR 5dr GTI
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 565
Question MFD2 wont turn on with the car

Hi guys,

Got an MFD2 in my gti that wont turn on when I start the car. It turns on manually(with the power knob/button) but not when the car starts.

Any idea's? couldn't see any blown fuses?
__________________
NahbutsGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:12 AM   #2
UGFast89
The Dubster Sith
 
UGFast89's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 United Grey GTI
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 786
I'm having the same problem with my stock radio unit. Sometimes it turns on but its mainly off on startup. I'm hoping it's the battery. Hopefully someone could chime in on this.
__________________
UGFast89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:30 AM   #3
NahbutsGTI
EUROTHRASH
 
NahbutsGTI's Avatar
 
Drives: MkV TR 5dr GTI
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 565
I just had my battery replaced and it started happening after that, I dont think its a battery issue...
__________________
NahbutsGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:40 AM   #4
UGFast89
The Dubster Sith
 
UGFast89's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 United Grey GTI
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 786
If it started happening after the battery swap then maybe you have a faulty battery. Did you get an oem one?
__________________
UGFast89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:27 AM   #5
NahbutsGTI
EUROTHRASH
 
NahbutsGTI's Avatar
 
Drives: MkV TR 5dr GTI
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 565
Got a Yuasa battery, wasn't keen to pay for a narva!
__________________
NahbutsGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 05:33 AM   #6
NahbutsGTI
EUROTHRASH
 
NahbutsGTI's Avatar
 
Drives: MkV TR 5dr GTI
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 565
Hey UGfast, any luck with finding out what it is? I'm still having the same problem, have to turn the MFD2 on myself every time I get in the car. I end up doing entire trips without music without even realising!
__________________
NahbutsGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 12:22 PM   #7
UGFast89
The Dubster Sith
 
UGFast89's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 United Grey GTI
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 786
Swapping the battery did the trick for me.
__________________
UGFast89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 11:16 AM   #8
KevRob
Just finished watching Fast&Fuzzynuts
 
Drives: Golf GTI MKV
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
I have same issue - waiting for my new battery to arrive from VW and then I can test this.
KevRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 06:15 AM   #9
bazzle
Formula 5000 Driver
 
bazzle's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 R32 Golf
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,469
Put a voltmeter across bat.
Record readings with
car off
Ign on
Starting
Idling

Bazzle
bazzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 07:25 AM   #10
dimi_108
The GTI Collector
 
dimi_108's Avatar
 
Drives: 2 x MK5 GTI's & MK6 GTI
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 40
I know all of you boys have probably all moved onto greener pastures but did anyone figure this issue out? I'm having the same issue today after my battery died and got jump started back to life.
__________________
2005 MK5 GTI
2007 MK5 GTI
2011 MK6 GTI
dimi_108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 12:10 PM   #11
Maverick
Formula 3000 Champion
 
Drives: 08 GTI DSG Leather CW
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimi_108 View Post
I know all of you boys have probably all moved onto greener pastures but did anyone figure this issue out? I'm having the same issue today after my battery died and got jump started back to life.
Disconnect the battery for ten minutes, reconnect and test.

The head units are sent a command via CAN Bus when the car starts, sometimes for whatever reason this signal is not seen. A reset of the car seems to solve the problem but the issue appears to be the MFD2.

Also check your voltages.
__________________
website: www.my-gti.com
Maverick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.