GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV


  VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com


 
Register
MYGOLF garage
Timeslips
Search
Members List
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Go Back   VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com > Technical Discussions > Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust
Eurotek Tuning


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-2019, 05:32 PM   #23
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 138
Gotcha. Time to get some equipment and get to work!
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 05:37 PM   #24
GTI's
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2008 GTI Z4Z4 P03 PIP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 1,012
Find someone to scan with VCDS
GTI's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 05:45 PM   #25
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 138
I'm gonna go out on a limb and bet that the Lite version will not pull that kind of scan. Will it?
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 06:19 PM   #26
GTI's
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2008 GTI Z4Z4 P03 PIP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 1,012
"VCDS-Lite is our low cost solution for older (pre-2006) VW-Audi Group cars that do not require a direct CAN diagnostic connection." So not for MK5

May try the locator service http://www.maptive.com/ver3/VCDS_Locator
GTI's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 04:49 AM   #27
vwengineer
FIA World Rally Car Newbie
 
vwengineer's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf 5 GTI (stock AXX)
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 459
Get it recharged, they will usually add a tracer (yellow dye) in the system so then you will be able to spot leaks easily. Could be the condenser too, if it was hit by some rocks
vwengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 08:31 AM   #28
GTI's
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2008 GTI Z4Z4 P03 PIP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 1,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by easy87 View Post

This is going from memory, could be wrong, but when hooked up, high and low side had ~80psi
**With car running, and AC on
Somehow I missed this post but if done correctly you have mechanical issues.
GTI's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 08:56 AM   #29
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 138
Tried contacting a few of the folks on that map you sent to no avail. Planning on evacuating/vacuuming/dying the system this weekend to see what crops up.
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 10:26 AM   #30
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 138
So while waiting for the weekend, is there any one component that would cause both the compressor and the fan to not work, and could it be tested? I am starting to wonder if it is a few different things that put me here. Like, fan died, compressor failed due to no air flow, and a leak. But only time and more testing will tell.
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 11:19 AM   #31
GTI's
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2008 GTI Z4Z4 P03 PIP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 1,012
When you did your pressure check both the fans should have been turned on. AC needs fan to work for AC to function
GTI's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 11:35 AM   #32
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 138
Fan hasn't worked at any time since testing. Thought that may be due to that switch originally.
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 11:59 AM   #33
vwengineer
FIA World Rally Car Newbie
 
vwengineer's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf 5 GTI (stock AXX)
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTI's View Post
When you did your pressure check both the fans should have been turned on. AC needs fan to work for AC to function
I am pretty sure that the fan do not work if the AC is not cooling/pressure not building. I don't remember that mine worked much when the AC was empty, however then turned on directly when charged.
vwengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 03:37 PM   #34
GTI's
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2008 GTI Z4Z4 P03 PIP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 1,012
With a compressor shutoff code of 0=ON the fans should be on and I would expect to see the fans moving at whatever speed the system calls for. If the pressure was < 2 bar the shutoff code would be 3 and because of that code the fans for AC would be off. I do not see a specific compressor shutoff code for fans not working, but you sure would see a DTC in the ECU for that issue.
GTI's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 01:32 AM   #35
vwengineer
FIA World Rally Car Newbie
 
vwengineer's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf 5 GTI (stock AXX)
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 459
As said before, the compressor always work at 5% capacity (in ECON mode) because it has no clutch, that this the minimum it can work. That's why VW recommends not driving more than 10 minutes with the system empty, even though the compressor keeps some oil inside it can overheat. So not sure if the compressor codes applies.

I am pretty sure that the fans only come ON when pressure is built, for instance in ECON mode they are off or at least work intermittently while compressor is code 0.

Last edited by vwengineer; 03-15-2019 at 01:46 AM.
vwengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 08:43 AM   #36
GTI's
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2008 GTI Z4Z4 P03 PIP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 1,012
Yes I know that the compressor is always turning on the MKV and that its displacement is change by the RCV, and that percentage can be from 0-100 depending on what SSP you are looking at. The only time it would not be turning is if its seized up, and in that case you better hope the override pulley works to prevent damage to engine.


IN ECON mode the compressor is off, shutoff code is 6, OP shutoff code has been 0 the two times it was posted.

"Here is a list of typical Compressor Shut off codes:
- 0 = Compressor ON
- 1 = Compressor OFF: Refrigerant Pressure too high (> 32 bar)
- 2 = compressor OFF: Basic setting not performed
- 3 = Compressor OFF: Refrigerant Pressure too low (< 2.0 bar)
- 5 = Compressor OFF: Engine Start Detection
- 6 = Compressor OFF: ECON Mode active
- 7 = Compressor OFF: A/C System / FAN OFF
- 8 = Compressor OFF: Outside Temperature too low (< 3.0 C)
- 10 = Compressor OFF: Vehicle System Voltage too low (< 10.1 V)
- 11 = Compressor OFF: Engine Temperature too high (> 118 C)
- 12 = Compressor OFF: Shut-Off requested by Engine Control
- 13 = Compressor OFF: Vehicle System Voltage too high (> 17 V)
- 14 = Compressor OFF: Evaporator Temperature too low
- 16 = Compressor OFF: Compressor Activation faulty
- 17 = Compressor OFF: No or implausible Signal Pressure Sensor
- 18 = Compressor OFF: Vehicle Speed Shut-Off
- 19 = Compressor OFF: Shut-Off requested by Central Electronics Control (Load Management)"
GTI's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 10:19 AM   #37
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 138
Can confirm that shutoff code was 0. I just switched it to "Econ"(weirdest naming convention, puzzled me for a while) and verified it showed a value of 6 to show econ was on. Should be vacuuming and recharging with dye this weekend to check it out further. Will post results.
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 11:27 AM   #38
GTI's
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2008 GTI Z4Z4 P03 PIP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 1,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by easy87 View Post
Can confirm that shutoff code was 0. I just switched it to "Econ"(weirdest naming convention, puzzled me for a while) and verified it showed a value of 6 to show econ was on. Should be vacuuming and recharging with dye this weekend to check it out further. Will post results.
When you had code 0 did you happen to see if fans turned on.
GTI's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 11:34 AM   #39
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 138
Fans have not been on at any point during testing

Edit: Might upgrade it to this!
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 11:54 AM   #40
GTI's
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2008 GTI Z4Z4 P03 PIP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 1,012
You could use that or one of those side window swamp coolers

http://www.2040-cars.com/_content/ca...621689/006.jpg
GTI's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 12:35 PM   #41
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 138
lol, what in the actual hell is that thing? It looks more turbine-esque. Allow me to ask this one before I go all the way with the vacuuming and pressure gauges.

I know that ~525g should be put in. But assuming I put in ~525g of freon, at 60f, what should the pressures be? I called a local dealership to ask and his response was
Hi:60
Lo:30

Which sounds terribly incorrect. Do you guys know what a normal reading with compressor off vs compressor on would look like? I just want to be as informed as possible before I start, as not to trip up anywhere.

Last edited by easy87; 03-15-2019 at 12:52 PM.
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 01:10 PM   #42
vwengineer
FIA World Rally Car Newbie
 
vwengineer's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf 5 GTI (stock AXX)
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 459
I have the resting pressures tables from VW, I will have a look tomorrow. Should probably be around 4-5 bars from memory (engine off/stabilised temperature). Engine running with AC on will of course be higher.

Do not go by pressure, go by weight, if you vacuum and put 525g +/- 25 it will be fine. VW do not have high/low pressure tables, only resting pressures.
vwengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 01:48 PM   #43
GTI's
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2008 GTI Z4Z4 P03 PIP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 1,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by easy87 View Post
lol, what in the actual hell is that thing? It looks more turbine-esque. Allow me to ask this one before I go all the way with the vacuuming and pressure gauges.

I know that ~525g should be put in. But assuming I put in ~525g of freon, at 60f, what should the pressures be? I called a local dealership to ask and his response was
Hi:60
Lo:30

Which sounds terribly incorrect. Do you guys know what a normal reading with compressor off vs compressor on would look like? I just want to be as informed as possible before I start, as not to trip up anywhere.
Early form of car AC https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Car_cooler

Static pressure R134A, kept in mind that static pressure in a fully charged system and one that's undercharged can be hard to tell depending how far off they are. Thats why you need to know the charge weight in the system. Check the label on the car and also compressor for proper weight seeing that they used more than one style compressor in the MK5.




And the 30/60psi from dealer is just bad.
GTI's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 01:54 PM   #44
easy87
l1kez b00st
 
easy87's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk 6spd MKV (Foxxxy)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 138
Man, you guys are truly incredible with the info! Looks like its gonna be a fun time! When re-charging from cans, I assume you just take it off when you feel you are close and weigh it to verify how much has been put in?
easy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.