GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Track days: Mod my MkV, or, get a new car?

brygx

I have an MkV GTI w/ Stage 1 APR ECU and Michelin PSS tires. In my area, the GTI is competitive at autocross but I rarely see them at the track. The typical cars I see are WRX, 335i, 350Z, Corvettes, Caymans, etc. I feel the car is competitive in the twisties (though suffers from body roll), but these cars all pull away at any open stretch. I'm a novice, but I'm still ~5 seconds behind other novices (on a 2-minute lap).

My question is, if I spend $1-2k to bring it up to Stage 2+ (downpipe, intake, tune), will the car be inline with the aforementioned competition? Or should I just trade up at this point? It doesn't seem worth the cost of bolting on a K04 when the car is only worth ~$7k at this point.

Would love an opinion from anyone who tracks a GTI vs. more sportscar-oriented competition. Thanks!

GIACUser

Master Wallet Mechanic
Car(s)
MK 6 GolfR
I have an MkV GTI w/ Stage 1 APR ECU and Michelin PSS tires. In my area, the GTI is competitive at autocross but I rarely see them at the track. The typical cars I see are WRX, 335i, 350Z, Corvettes, Caymans, etc. I feel the car is competitive in the twisties (though suffers from body roll), but these cars all pull away at any open stretch. I'm a novice, but I'm still ~5 seconds behind other novices (on a 2-minute lap).

Yup there is a reason why those are more typical, they make better track vehicles with fewer mods. I take my GTI to track and it seems to be able to run with the crowd you have listed but it has a lot of mods which means it costs comparatively more to get it to go, stop and turn fast as opposed to a factory car that was designed for that in the first place.

Pick up a Honda S2000 would be my advice and go have fun at the track. Not that expensive, naturally aspirated, plenty of mods available but it can be fun at the track just stock.

SuperSkyline89

Das Schiesse
Car(s)
2008 CW GTI