GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Oil Change Dilemma-Question(s)

joeblonewjersey

Ready to race!
I decided to consider to have the local Mobil 1 oil change place do an oil change for my ’16 GTI.

I’ve had the dealer do all the previous oil changes under the pre-purchased maintenance, and the last one was done in June this year, and the car is 3 years 6 months old with 20k miles, and I’ve had 4 oil changes since day one.

Even though the dealer says 10k oil changes are recommended, I don’t accept it and do otherwise.

I am anal about oil droplets, drippings in my driveway or on my garage floor. Been there, done that in the last 55 years of driving. I have zero issues with my car, and wish to keep it that way as long as possible.

So regardless of cost, my major issue is that the person sitting in my car, move the seat back, enter the car without rubbing his ass on the bolster because the seat I up close and once seated, move it up, then when exiting, put it back. My seats still look like new.

Also, no greasy hands, shoes, no poking around trying to sell me air filters, wipers, bulbs….just change the oil and filter, do a perfect job, thank you.

I “interviewed” the employee to decide if I could use the Mobil1 facility. He found my conditions amusing and smirked during my conveyance of requirement to decide if I would want the place to be considered for my oil change. He said, we’ll try. I said, not good enough, thank you. Oh, by the way, how much? Over $120 for this and that. I told him the local VW dealer did it for $59, he said he can’t beat that price.

BTW, I never had any issues with the local VW doing any oil changes, the did so impeccably. Well, maybe once they left the seat pulled up. :(

So, I can go back to the dealer, or……do I buy one of those oil extractors and do it myself? I’m not a fan of crawling under my jacked up car in the garage, been there, done that.