GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Needing help with P2187 Too Lean at Idle code

Weixb

Car(s)
2006 GTI
Hello all!

I am struggling with finding a solution to P2187- System lean at idle.

Attached is a VCDS scan from about an hour ago.

This is my first time working on a car, so I’m still trying to learn some of the terminology; my advance apologies for poor descriptions, or if I’m not providing enough information!

The car has been running great; no noticeable decrease in performance except for perhaps reduced gas mileage. The P2187 code started popping up a few weeks ago, and after clearing the code several times, it has started popping up more frequently.

The only noticeable issue has been that the car will take slightly longer to turn over if it has been sitting for a while- maybe a second and a half, rather than almost instantaneously, as it does when it’s been recently shut off.

So far, I’ve noticed or checked the following:

Car idles fine; revs don’t increase or decrease at all at idle.

Slight hissing coming from the PCV valve area, but it’s relatively quiet. Engine idles fine with oil cap/dip stick in place, but if either are removed, the engine idles rough.

I did damage a clip on one of the hoses coming out of the PCV valve when I was trying to maneuver to the banjo bolt on the HPFP (the hose on the far right that ducks down underneath the brake booster hosing/coolant lines)- but it looks like it’s holding in place well, and hasn’t moved at all since I stuck it back on

N80 valve was replaced by a Bosch part about a month ago

Brake booster hoses look newer- I didn’t see or feel any visible cracks; no unexpected noises from that part of the engine at idle.

Cleaned MAF sensor connector, didn’t change anything

Nothing looks substantially out of the ordinary in blocks 32 or 33- if additional info is needed, let me know

Block 002 registering around 2 at idle

Block 30 might be interesting- B1S1 is constantly stuck at the same value, while B1S2 fluctuates.