GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

HID low beam not working

SawULook

08 Go kart Champion
Car(s)
C.W. .:R32 RIP (L)GS
So all new parts from the 12pin headlight housing plug connector and no DS headlight? The rest of the lights in that housing are functioning properly?

Check your PM for wiring diagrams, you need to take a look at the headlight plug 12 pin connector for power at T12p/6 and ground at T12p/5.

PS have you used Vcds to see if or what dtc you may have for lighting.

No the new driver side is not working at all...plugged it in and the turn signal is not working either. The previous light was working....well at least the blinker. The new one is not working at all...no blinker, no headlight and nothing. I am brand new to the San Antonio, TX area, so I no longer have access to friends or shops who may have a Vag Com to use to see what fault codes are being thrown.

Thank you for the wiring diagram, I will see what I can find out and find. I read that there is a set of relay under the dash that may have blown when the lighting wires on the inside arc'd and took out the light.

This is sooo frustrating and I thought these cars were a solid platform.....looks like once they hit over 100K miles, they start to deteriorate and fall apart...:mad:

It's is now a love / Hate relationship...I love the sound of the car and the way it drives, but all of these little nuances are killing me....headlight, falling headliner, O2 Sensors throwing codes ( No Longer throwing codes when I got to Texas...Strange, but I'm okay with it even though I'm sitting on $425 worth of brand new o2 Sensors...)

Just frustrated and disappointed in the VW Build

GTI's

Drag Racing Champion
Please take a look at fuse SB47, the fuse box in engine compartment it should be for left headlight and SB48 is for right. You can confirm this in you owners manual.

Check your ground also, all the lighting function in that housing share a ground.

Last edited:

golfballer78

Ready to race!
Car(s)
08' R32 dsg