GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Buying 2009 GTI

GOMAB257

Newbie here...

I spotted a 2009 GTI on Carmax with 13k miles for $19k. It will cost roughly $850 to have it shipped, so I am looking at roughly $20k. I really wanted a 4-door, but for the price and mileage, I think this is a good deal.

That said, I am new to VW, so is this in fact a good deal? Do these models have mechanical issues (I read some posts about the automatic transmission, etc.). Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

http://www.carmax.com/enus/view-car...i=0&Ep=mykmx:save car:page&zip=77477&AZ=77034

biggee72

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
2009 GTI DSG
Price isn't terrible. Maybe a little high. Car prices vary by region though. I paid 18000 for my 09 with 19k on it.

GOMAB257

Yeah that's what I figured. The low mile GTIs in the Houston area are all over $20k, while in the Northeast, they are between $16k and 19k. I just hate that I have to spend $850 to have it shipped and when it gets here it is not in good shape as pictured.

Car(s)
2008 GTI
Yeah that's what I figured. The low mile GTIs in the Houston area are all over $20k, while in the Northeast, they are between $16k and 19k. I just hate that I have to spend $850 to have it shipped and when it gets here it is not in good shape as pictured.

Read your sale contract and see what kind of recourse you have if there is some misrepresentation in the condition of the vehicle. Because that is illegal.

Car(s)
2008 GTI
As with any car there is maintenance. This car is a PCV nightmare, but there are minimizing solutions like cans and plates, or complete solutions like valve scrubbing. Every car has its problems and the GTI is not devoid of this, but I love my FSI. I can't imagine having another.

GOMAB257

Pardon my ignorance, but can you please elaborate on your statement "This car is a PCV nightmare, but there are minimizing solutions like cans and plates, or complete solutions like valve scrubbing"? I am new to the forum and VW terminology.