GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

3D Printed Inlet Duct

gti_loki

Ready to race!
Long time lurker but finally had something to share with the community:
I'm a design-engineer by trade (20+ years), a car nerd for even longer and I've run a 3D printing LLC for the last 3 years. Surprisingly, this is the first part I've actually made for a car.
The more I researched intake systems and read the forums, the more discouraged I became about buying one. I still see inefficiencies and room for improvement, but it seems ze Germans did a damn fine job overall.
I was originally going to buy the intake block-off plate (5Q0129849KT) to reduce WOT air temps but when the wrong part arrived, I started looking at anything simple I could do on my own.
After measuring the open area where it necks down around the hood latch, I decided this was the best place for improvement without going nuts.
The new duct replaces the big factory unit and encompasses the entire driver side opening then dives directly into the factory air box. There are mounting provisions in that spot that I utilized to provide a sturdy install.
The filament is a high strength alloy used for production parts with a working environment temp of 180f. Because of the location, I think this will be sufficient, but it's only been on the car for a day. I'm in Texas so if heat is going to be a problem, I'll know soon enough!

Let me know what you think.

Attachments

• GTI Duct_c.JPG
    GTI Duct_c.JPG
    822.1 KB · Views: 677
  • GTI Duct_d.JPG
    GTI Duct_d.JPG
    690.7 KB · Views: 539
  • GTI Duct_e.JPG
    GTI Duct_e.JPG
    74.6 KB · Views: 657
  • IMG_1028.jpg
    IMG_1028.jpg
    637.4 KB · Views: 595
  • IMG_1030.jpg
    IMG_1030.jpg
    466.5 KB · Views: 662
  • IMG_1032.jpg
    IMG_1032.jpg
    538.7 KB · Views: 902
  • IMG_1034.jpg
    IMG_1034.jpg
    333.2 KB · Views: 580
  • IMG_1035.jpg
    IMG_1035.jpg
    322.3 KB · Views: 581
  • IMG_1029.jpg
    IMG_1029.jpg
    615.3 KB · Views: 578

Ghost GTI