GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

2008 R32 - intermittent squeaking noise from the rear

alex-g

2008 R32 blue
Car(s)
2008 R32
Hi everyone,

I've been driving my 08 R32 for over two years now and for more than a year, every morning I hear this squeaking-quacking-pumping noise from the rear. It happens with 90% regularity when the engine is still cold and I just started driving it, i.e. two times a day - when going to work, and then coming back home.

The noise comes on for about 15-20 seconds and resembles the sound of a cat trying to throw up a hairball, only at a faster rate - about two "quacks" per second or so. It then stops, and sometimes comes on again in 10-15 seconds, and sometimes doesn't. Some of the mornings I don't hear it - after all, I do have a significant hearing loss, and may just miss it. I do hear it with a 90% regularity twice a day though.

The dealership (Pacific VW in Hawthorne CA) did observe the noise once but said they couldn't do anything after hearing it just once.

Has anyone heard of this type of noise and what it might indicate? It comes from the rear and appears to be a pumping noise. Naturally, I am concerned this may indicate something serious.

Thanks!

Alex.

PyroBob

I'm in.
Car(s)
.:R 32
Sounds like your hearing the pump...there's quite a few threads about it. It's an air pump that's part of your emissions system. It's pretty loud if you lower the seats, too.

See if it's coming from behind the panel on the passenger side of the boot.

I'm really surprised your dealer didn't tell you that...

alex-g

2008 R32 blue
Car(s)
2008 R32
Sounds like your hearing the pump...there's quite a few threads about it. It's an air pump that's part of your emissions system.
Did a search for an air pump, went as far down as 2008, found nothing.

Could you please point me to a couple of threads about it?

Thanks!

skaruda_23

Hi everyone,