GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

17"/18" lowered??

Oliver-golf

Passed Driver's Ed
im am a newbee to modding golfs or any car for the matter.
I want to change the wheels on my golf mk5 and have found some nice ones.

only problem which i cant seem to get my head around is, would 18" look ok if the car is not lowered? or would it be best to stay 17"?

and then another question, if i did lower it, how much would it cost and by how much do i lower it?
total newbee sorry if i sound dumb.
Thanks!

WHO_I_AM

if the car isn't lowered the stocks would look best, no matter the size.

After market wheels never look good if there isn't drop. My personal opinion!

minimizing wheel gap is the goal. But it's personal preference if you do not like the look of a lowered car, then don't lower it. Kits could be 300-700 cup style kit, or 300 - 2400 coilover kit. again personal preference. install could be done by yourself if your experienced around a car, maybe friend could help. shop wise depends on hourly rate, but shouldnt be more than 2hour charge time.

Oliver-golf

Passed Driver's Ed
cheers, yeh i do think it looks better, but i dont really want to spend that much money, unless i could just buy some springs that would lower it enough which im guessing shouldnt be too expensive?
how far would u need to lower front and back to still have a good standerdish ride?
thanks

Red-2009-GTI

Ready to race!