GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Passing Colorado Smog Check

Gogo GTI

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
2017 GTI Sport
I’m relatively new to CO and not familiar with the smog checks out here. I have a cold air intake. Will that pass visual inspection out here?

Javwohl

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2017 Carbon Steel
They don’t do visual inspection. When I took my 01 Dodge Ram in all they did was run obd2 and hook up exhaust but being newer they probably will do just the obd2 hook up.

Superfreak

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
‘19 M2C, ‘05 Taco
Just took my golf r through emissions (Littleton location). I was surprised that it passed with a eqt stage 1 map still loaded.

edit: We’ll see how the upgraded turbo setup does when it’s due. I’ll hope that I won’t need emissions on the golf for another year.

Last edited:

MSH

Drag Racing Champion
Car(s)
'20 M2 Competition
Hey all, following up on this as I'm starting to think about my emissions test for my R which comes due early next year. I'm a bit confused on Colorado and readiness. I thought that all readiness checks had to set in Colorado, but I found the below on the Colorado State Emissions FAQ's which seems to suggest that for newer cars that one readiness monitor doesnt have to set and you can still pass. In my case the Fuel System Monitor won't set due to my upgraded LPFP. When I review some of the Colorado OBD inspection reports online (example on 2nd screen shot below) i dont even see Fuel System as one of the monitors even listed on the reports.

https://cdphe.colorado.gov/motorvehicle-faqs
1661006575537.png

1661006596146.png

Javwohl

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2017 Carbon Steel
That’s interesting thanks for the info I had always thought also that everything had to be set. After I get home later either tonight or tomorrow I’ll try to look up my smog check on my 2001 ram I had done last year and see what it says for what was checked when plugged into obd2.

Reactions: MSH

MSH

Drag Racing Champion
Car(s)
'20 M2 Competition