GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Shit grout?

9uns

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
gti
Moved into my home about a year ago and had my kitchen completely redone prior to moving in. I've been noticing this shit happening every fucking where in my kitchen. Wtf is going on here? In case it's not clear by the pic, the grout is just falling off in chunks everywhere.

Anyone help an absolute noob in home diy work?
PXL_20220109_010647452.jpg

Last edited:

GTI Jake

Autocross Champion
Get what I paid for? But you don't even know how much I paid. Home came with a 1 year warranty but the work was done by a contractor that I hired who happened to be a friend of my old man.

It probably wasn’t mixed or applied properly?

Really the only two options are to find some that matches and fill the voids, or pull all the tile off and start from scratch.

I’ve only done tile once, and it was over six years ago. Sold the house shortly after so no clue how it’s holding up other than it’s still there in photos from the following owner reselling.

9uns

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
gti
It probably wasn’t mixed or applied properly?

Really the only two options are to find some that matches and fill the voids, or pull all the tile off and start from scratch.

I’ve only done tile once, and it was over six years ago. Sold the house shortly after so no clue how it’s holding up other than it’s still there in photos from the following owner reselling.
not down to pull all the tiles out so i'll try to find some matching grout. what where the backsplash meets the countertop? what would one use to join the two together? the counter is quartz and backsplash is marble.

Jose_Gti

Autocross Newbie
Sometimes vibrations in the house (even slamming a door) can provoke the grout to come out.
It’s an easy fix, just go to Home Depot and buy something like:
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Daltile...Pre-Mixed-Urethane-Grout-9999574640/313176517