GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Possible Turbo Leak?

josiahkkanzler

Car(s)
2008 MKV GTI
So I just bought a MKV GTI (08) and I have a oil leak that is causing smoke to come out the engine bay and rarely out the exhaust. It smells like burning out and I can kind of see where it could possibly be coming from. I just bought this car on Friday from a dealer who I know wouldn't sell me a messed up car. I have a picture from what it seems to be a oil leak from the Turbo? I went to pep boys early and they said its a leak coming from possibly the Turbo itself or the oil feed line. I'm not sure if its possible for smoke to be caused from what the picture shows but I'm new to this and not sure what's going on. Also good note is that there isn't any performance issues at all from what I can tell and I wouldn't think its coming form the Turbo itself.
tempImagePdqLYn.jpg

ROH ECHT

K04 PLAY
Car(s)
2007 MKV GTI
You will need to find the origin of the leak. It may be the oil supply connection above that area. You might need two new sealing washers and the banjo bolt torqued properly, if leaking here ↓ ...or try tightening it if found to be looser than its specified torque of 30 Nm=22 lb*ft;
adrip.png

This oil return uses a gasket and the bolt torque for the two is 9 Nm=6.6 lb*ft;
andrip.png

...if worse comes to worse...there is engine oil with leak detection dye in it.

josiahkkanzler

Car(s)
2008 MKV GTI
You will need to find the origin of the leak. It may be the oil supply connection above that area. You might need two new sealing washers and the banjo bolt torqued properly, if leaking here ↓ ...or try tightening it if found to be looser than its specified torque of 30 Nm=22 lb*ft;
View attachment 227631

This oil return uses a gasket and the bolt torque for the two is 9 Nm=6.6 lb*ft;
View attachment 227632

...if worse comes to worse...there is engine oil with leak detection dye in it.