GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

CAI Water Shield

TheTroyness

I changed a tire once...
So here's a little story for you. I'm a college student. Right now I'm on winter break, so I have a lot of down time (I work for my University, so I'm also on a vacation from my job pretty much). Well, at the start of the break, I went hunting for a boost leak, as well as zeroed in on the source to my mysterious cylinder 4 misfire. Got my answers, and ordered parts.

Now I've got down time again while the parts come in. This is a problem. So I decided to fabricate something that I've been kinda wanting to do for some time. You see, I have a cold air intake from ABD Racing. Well, I had been running the hideous closed stock fog grilles. Ugly, but they were protecting my CAI from getting hit with a bunch of water when driving in or after rain. I don't want my turbo to try sucking air through my wet cotton filter, because that will destroy it. That's why K&N says not to use forced air flow to dry their filters when cleaning them.

At any rate, I recently got some open fogs, and thus made my filter vulnerable to the evil elements! So I decided to make a shield for my filter to protect it from incoming water. And that's what this thread is about.

I decided I could use one of two designs. I could mount the shield somewhere on the car between the fogs and the filter, or I could mount the shield on the filter itself. To make things easy, I decided to mount it on the filter. I thought up a few designs, and then decided to look at the parts involved.

I took off my bumper and stuff and checked out the area where the filter is. Looked at space constraints and all those fun things. Then I took off the filter to measure it. Then I noticed this could be a lot easier than I had imagined. The filter has grooves on the top and bottom of it in the rubber. These grooves were deep enough for metal to bite into without having to modify the filter or damage anything. Lucky me!