Votes: 5 33.3%
  • No, that is a stupid idea

Votes: 10 66.7%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

(510)WickedHARE

Car(s)
2007 Volkswagen GTI
Greetings MKV Brethren, as my title suggests I'm a newbie here at the MKV community. I'm a freshmen in college down in Southern California and I just took delivery of my first car, The wonderful GTI. Its great to know how many like minded enthusiasts there are out there, and I will enjoy contributing to this wonderful Dubber culture in years to come. So as not to make this Inroduction thread worthless here is my question.

#1 Would it be feasible to finish an entire car in that cool matte black primer color you see on cars about to be painted? IMHO a matte finish looks badass on a sleeper style performance car i.e., it might work on a GTI

#2 If this type of finish could be achieved, would it be as durable as say an oem gloss finish or would it, discolor, chip and or lead to body damage, rain intrusion? Also could I get it in Grey, Gotta rep my UG homies.

#3 Does anyone else have any cool Painting suggestions for the GTI. I really want to start upgrading and I feel like the most impactful cosmetic change would be Rims And paint

(510)WickedHARE

Car(s)
2007 Volkswagen GTI
Haha I know dude, I always propose the matte idea to my friends and they just roll their eyes at me. But I reason if it were done properly, a matte finish, maybe not primer, but one that doesn't reflect so much light, might be kinda cool. Wuteva though people are entitled to hate.

I'm attending Occidental college in Eagle Rock. I officially live in the Bay Area. But I was born down here and my folks still have a condo in Santa Monica. Its good to meet a local, where are you based?

cmdrfire

FIA World Rally Car Champion