GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

How do you manage your track-day pads?

Dynjo

Ready to race!
Hi, guys. Newbie here. I just acquired an '07 GTI and will be attending a few HPDE days. I'm no expert, but I'm no stranger to road courses, either. I've driven race cars on the track with race brake pads and of course I've driven street cars on the street with street pads.

I've never driven a car on the street with race pads, nor have I driven on a track with street pads.

How do you hotshoes deal with this? Do you change pads at the track? The night before? At the beginning of the season? What?

Or maybe you just hold back a little at the track to acccomodate street pads.

Has anybody tried to get a handle on brake temperatures via Tempilac or other method?

Thanks!

Track_Guy

Passed Driver's Ed
Hi, guys. Newbie here. I just acquired an '07 GTI and will be attending a few HPDE days. I'm no expert, but I'm no stranger to road courses, either. I've driven race cars on the track with race brake pads and of course I've driven street cars on the street with street pads.

I've never driven a car on the street with race pads, nor have I driven on a track with street pads.

How do you hotshoes deal with this? Do you change pads at the track? The night before? At the beginning of the season? What?

Has anybody tried to get a handle on brake temperatures via Tempilac or other method?

Thanks!

If you're carrying any speed at all, you cannot go with street pads on the track. They just will not hold coming down from 110+ mph. Race pads are fine on the street if you can ignore the squeals. I change before I get to the track at home to race pads then I change them back to street pads after I get home -- and usually not until I can't stand the squeal for another day...

Changing at the track may be best but the day is usually just too busy to get all the work you need in.

johnny love

don't be an asshat.