GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

okay, let's hear it from the guys who actually track and autocross (chip question)

leegf

(OO=[][]=OO)
and no, i'm not talking about a dragstrip. is a chip useful at all (i.e., even remotely worth the potential headache, and risk) for getting you faster through corners, or is its raison d'etre simply straight line speed?

my hunch is that it's the latter- i'm no expert by any stretch, but i suspect our cars have more than enough torque and power to handle through its poor front wheels when you fling it hard into a corner (feel free to correct me on this). but if you're chipped and feel 'wow, my chip has really enhanced my track and/or autocross experience', i'd like to hear from you.

TZSGTI

Ready to race!
Car(s)
Honda Civic Type R
I am sure DanGSR will help you out with it.

For my First time Autoxing ever i would have to say no. The GTI has plenty of torque for me. I actually wished it had a bit less power when i went the first time. Thats because i dont know how to drive :biggrin: . But depending on what level you are on. If you already maxed your cars potential then YES.

That is for AutoX. I can imagine on a road course the chip would help alot. But like you said you want someone who actually did it and i never went road racing yet.

leegf

(OO=[][]=OO)
I am sure DanGSR will help you out with it.

dangsr fanclub ftw.

as much as i admire and appreciate dan's expertise, are there literally no other authorities on this board?

TZSGTI

Ready to race!
Car(s)
Honda Civic Type R
Yes i reliazed that. The GTI is still new for people to turn this car into a complete track car. I guess when they are older more people would be getting into them making them track cars.

Untill now at least we have Dan :thumbsup:

BMLracer

Ready to race!
Car(s)
08 GTI/4
its not the age of the car
its that most vw ppl aren't into motorsports
they rather build show cars