PDA

View Full Version : Lights


whatyjy
09-29-2007, 06:42 PM
hi everyone:
My the two of lights R32 which in the middle of the X-headlights never turn on, can somebody tell me why please? Thank you

bennylenny88
09-29-2007, 08:38 PM
..
if your on about what i think you are then they are the flash to pass lights

abngti
09-30-2007, 06:27 AM
you'll have to recode your insturment cluster to UK or EU in order for the lights to do anything.

you'll need a vag-com to do it, but once done a pull back on the stalk will "flash to pass" and you can also make it so they come on w/ the xenon high beams which is extremely bright.

HTH

abngti
09-30-2007, 06:29 AM
you'll have to recode your insturment cluster to UK or EU in order for the lights to do anything.

you'll need a vag-com to do it, but once done a pull back on the stalk will "flash to pass" and you can also make it so they come on w/ the xenon high beams which is extremely bright.

all the settings can be found here here (http://www.golfmkv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7410)

HTH :thumbsup:

whatyjy
09-30-2007, 11:42 PM
Thank you! Can I do it bymyself or go back to the factory?

abngti
10-01-2007, 01:02 PM
if you can find someone with a HEX+CAN vag com in your area willing to do it, it's a DIY, but you'll need VAG-COM to do it.

whatyjy
10-02-2007, 11:46 AM
Does it mean if i don't set it up, then these two lights are not going to turn on? Now, the two lights are not turing on.......

abngti
10-02-2007, 02:54 PM
yes, right now the only way they do anything is if you pull back on the stalk when the key isn't in the ignition. other than that they don't do anything on a US spec car until you recode it.

Turbo
10-02-2007, 04:02 PM
yes, right now the only way they do anything is if you pull back on the stalk when the key isn't in the ignition. other than that they don't do anything on a US spec car until you recode it.

Huh?

They only work as flash to pass when the DRLs are on (i.e. ignition on, emergency brake off, headlight switch set to off). Under those conditions, if you pull back on the stalk, those inside lights will come on. No need to VAG-COM anything.

whatyjy
10-02-2007, 06:20 PM
really? But my car does the same thing as abngti said

whatyjy
10-02-2007, 06:22 PM
hey abngti! how did you passed your break in period? I have 800 miles, but I try a few times to boost the car. Does it hurt?

whatyjy
10-02-2007, 06:23 PM
Since 600 miles.....

Turbo
10-02-2007, 06:35 PM
really? But my car does the same thing as abngti said

That doesn't sound right. :iono: I would expect a US spec .:R32 to behave like a US spec GTI in this respect. They have the same kind of headlights. Sorry if I gave any misinformation.

abngti
10-03-2007, 11:41 AM
i don't have any experience w/ MKV GTIs they may be different, I know that in the .:R they didn't do squat. does your GTI have halogen or xenon? might be setup differently if it's halogens.

the .:R is @ 1200 miles now and hauling ass :thumbup: it just keeps going, I haven't been on an autobahn since it's reached 1200, but even @ 110 mph it shows no signs of slowing, just keeps accelerating :eyebulge:

whatyjy
10-08-2007, 11:29 PM
Have u ever taken off ur spare tire? do you feel it getting faster?

THE_DENVER_SHOP
10-11-2007, 04:07 PM
This light thing is confusing......I would love to have the inner lights on when driving and be able to have both lights working at night...maybe not possible because of the brights...you tell me..is this why you buy the euro switch?

abngti
10-11-2007, 04:14 PM
Have u ever taken off ur spare tire? do you feel it getting faster?

I haven't taken out the spare, never really thought of that. It seems to be getting faster, of course I'm not afraid to rev it now, and spend almost all of my time driving in M

This light thing is confusing......I would love to have the inner lights on when driving and be able to have both lights working at night...maybe not possible because of the brights...you tell me..is this why you buy the euro switch?

AFAIK the only way to get the inner lights on is to recode to UK or EU, and then they only work w/ the brights. the advantage of the euro light for me was the parking light setting where you can turn on just the parking lights, but not the headlights, good for going through the gate on base for ID checks

dpham00
10-11-2007, 04:31 PM
AFAIK the only way to get the inner lights on is to recode to UK or EU, and then they only work w/ the brights.

x2, assuming it's like the mkv gti.