GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Road Hazard

dc_candy

Drag Race Newbie
My dealer strongly recommended I get the Road Hazard protection plan for the rims and tires. They will repair or fix a damaged tire or rim. I have the stock 17's and drive in the city on fairly rough roads, though few potholes. I'm new to lower profile tires and I don't know how well they handle bad roads. It's about $600 for 4 years, I think. It's good for up to $1200 total. So, did anyone else get this?

Are their any aftermarket plans worthwhile?

btw, I love my GTI!

Freek

Formula 5000 Driver
i got the road harzard plan for my 18's...i paid like 325 for the 4yr full service plan

Sinjin

Rally Car Newbie
i think it is too steep. a new set of tires are around that. and even if you had to replace all your tires at once, the new tires should come with a plan that, i feel, would be much cheaper.

Rabbit GTI

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
a GTI.
it's probably a good idea...on my old G20 sport, i had 16" wheels with low profile tires, hit a relatively small pothole on the highway, and there went the wheel. infiniti wanted 500 bucks for a new one, but i was lucky to find one at a junkyard for 200

kirk180

Go Kart Champion
I didn't find it worth it myself. But that's just me. The worst that will happen (which is very unlikely) is that I will be forced to by nicer looking aftermarket rims sooner. Oh well.:iono: Doubt it will ever happen though.

dc_candy

Drag Race Newbie
Thanks for all the replies. I'm more concerned about the rims then the tires. When I get new tires, I usually get the plan for about $15/tire. Replacing the rim is what worries me. I wouldn't mind upgrading my rims, but I don't have the cash now. $325 for 4 years sounds pretty good. Maybe I will contact me dealer about all the options.

I liked the G20; I found it to be very very similar in design and size to my legacy.

Freek

Formula 5000 Driver