GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

oil change??

sooblack

Ready to race!
newbie here..
i would like to know what brand of oil should i use??
should i use synthetic or fully synthetic??
i heard mobil is good but there are many kind..like 0w30 etc..
what's the different between all of them..
thanks..

KaynE

FIA World Rally Car Champion
5w40 is what is recommended for Euro spec cars.
I'm pretty sure 0w30 will be fine since another guy on this forum says he used it for his Audi.

BMWDavid

Drag Racing Champion
Oil change

You should use an oil that meets VW's 502.00 standard. In the Mobil 1 product line that means 0W-40, its the only Mobil 1 that meets 502.00

Castrol Syntec 0W-30 in the German formula meets 502.00 but its near impossible to find. Some have luck finding it at Autozone. It must say made in Germany on the back of the bottle.

All oil meeting 502.00 is synthetic.

David

excal06

Autocross Champion
And do you guys do oil change at 5000 mile? Or is it better to change the oil after the breakin preiod i.e. 1000 miles

black2.0t

Drag Race Newbie
Amsoil 0w30

bilbos

On the Kop
excal06 said:
And do you guys do oil change at 5000 mile? Or is it better to change the oil after the breakin preiod i.e. 1000 miles

I believe the oil change schedule (per the service book) is 1st at 5000, 2nd at 10000, 3rd at 20000.

Wild Hare

.: MR. BIG STUFF :.
Car(s)
2015 Golf R (TUNED)
I'd go with Amsoil 5w40 or the 0w30 both would work great... the 5w40 is less expensive and is specific to the VW 502.00 standards.

Always go with a pure synthetic as the blends are regular oil based and don't have the protection for our engines/turbos. Amsoil is the best there is. Mobil 1 is a good oil don't get me wrong... but would you put the best in your engine or just settle for good?

Do a search in here and you'll seem my oil deal offer to members only and you can have it delivered to your door. If you are interested P.M. and we can chat. Always happy to help!