GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Sunglasses holder won't stay closed? Don't buy a new one!

tneconni

Ready to race!
At least until you try to fix it yourself.

I've been putting off getting a new sunglass holder for a couple of months now because the replacements are $25 for a gray one and it looks like ~$50 for the dark gray/black piece I've got.

So I after learning that removal is a cinch I figured that I'd try to fix my existing sunglasses holder or break it trying.

Since the fix is so easy I'll leave the pictures up to your imagination.
Edit: Since DIY's without pictures are
and I'm all for fun, I scoured the internet for pictures rather than do this over. As such some details are missing. But there are pictures!

Step 1: Remove holder. There are two clips securing it along its upper rear (think towards the back of the car) face. You can see where the clips are located by looking inside of the holder. Use a trim tool, plastic knife, jaws of life or whatever you deem appropriate for the mission at hand. Once these are released its easy to get out.

Step 2: On the interior side there is a small panel held on by some external plastic tabs. Gently pry this piece out.

Step 3: Contained within you will find 2, count 'em, 2 separate pieces. A spring and a plastic 'foot'. The spring presses against the foot which presses against the portion of the latch that opens out. Without the spring/foot assembly in place the button to open the latch doesn't function. Essentially the latch relatches too quickly. The spring gives it a little push, allowing it to open. However, in my case the spring was either too strong or the foot too long (or some combination of the two), resulting in a latch that wouldn't stay shut.
Remove the foot and sand a small portion off of the bottom. I ended up removing about 2mm of material using something like 100grit sandpaper. About 30 seconds of light sanding. Your needs may vary.