GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV


  VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com


 
Register
MYGOLF garage
Timeslips
Search
Members List
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Go Back   VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com > Main Topics > GTI / Rabbit / Golf MkV General Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2012, 09:07 AM   #1
aircanman
Drag Racing Champion
 
aircanman's Avatar
 
Drives: VW Golf 07 TDi
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 61
Cheapest and easiest way to get VAG COM? USB.

Hey all, I need to do some code reading on my car and was wondering what the cheapest way is to get vag com usb system?

Is it as simple as buying a cable and disc from ebay and installing on a windows machine?

Help greatly appreciated.
__________________
Jetta 2007 2.0 TDI on its way .....
aircanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 10:42 AM   #2
JetTurbo
geezer
 
JetTurbo's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 Golf R
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH USA
Posts: 2,635
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by aircanman View Post
Hey all, I need to do some code reading on my car and was wondering what the cheapest way is to get vag com usb system?

Is it as simple as buying a cable and disc from ebay and installing on a windows machine?

Help greatly appreciated.
Probably not,
most of the eBay stuff relies on the shareware version of VAG-COM
which does not work on the mk5.
Those low cost offerings do not include the software license
for the full version of VAG-COM.
They will probably still work with OBD-II functions,
which are limited to a subset of the ECU controller only,
none of the other controllers on the car.

The cable from Ross-Tech is not just a cable,
it also integrates a software protection key (dongle)
that enables the full version of the software.
So the cable is both the interface and the software license combined.
i.e. great software needs to be paid for so they can continue to maintain it.
Ross-Tech has done a good job, I bought my license 11 years ago
and still enjoy modern up-to-date solid software for the outlay.

The least expensive way is a cable specifically for a mk5 and newer can-buss cars.
VCDS License with Micro-CAN Interface

The more expensive cable works with both the newer can-bus cars
and pre-can-bus cars dating back to 1996.
with additional accessories, even older cars.
the mk4 is in this category.
VCDS License with HEX-USB+CAN Interface

About the only way you are going to save any $
is to purchase a used Ross-Tech Cable/license
from someone in the forum clasiffieds.
__________________
2012 Golf R - 2008 Passat v6 4-mo - 2006 mk5 GTi 0-230k mi / 7 years SOLD
JetTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 10:45 AM   #3
Fernas
Mexibahn Native
 
Fernas's Avatar
 
Drives: F23T GLI DSG
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Guadalajara, Mexico.
Posts: 1,475
Dont tell anyone, but the ebay versions do work, you just need to buy one that is USB HEX (or something like that) and ask the vendor if it works with MKVīs, thing is, is not well seen here to talk about them knock offīs, ask about goodspeed "twin intercooler" and you will see....
__________________
|| F23T...So far 316whp / 359wtq || Autotech HPFP || RS4 Injectors || RS4 PRV || AFE Pro Dry S Intake || USP Motorsport RFD || DevilsOwn DVC-30 || 3" Catless DP || ECS Lightweight pulley || BSH Catch Can || BSH Solid Mounts ||
Fernas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 10:46 AM   #4
ShadowClon3
Go Kart Champion
 
ShadowClon3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 GTI MKV
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: \_~|~_/
Posts: 38
http://www.dealextreme.com/p/vag-com...-134099?item=2

use only vcds that come with the cable meaning ver 11.10 , and don't use the cable and the internet at the same time(Wi-Fi OFF) or your cable won't work ever again.

*i write from personal experience.
**the link is just an for example.
***i have ver10.6 of this chines cable.
__________________

VW Golf GTI MK V
APR STAGE II+
ShadowClon3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 10:51 AM   #5
Fernas
Mexibahn Native
 
Fernas's Avatar
 
Drives: F23T GLI DSG
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Guadalajara, Mexico.
Posts: 1,475
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowClon3 View Post
http://www.dealextreme.com/p/vag-com...-134099?item=2

use only vcds that come with the cable meaning ver 11.10 , and don't use the cable and the internet at the same time(Wi-Fi OFF) or your cable won't work ever again.

*i write from personal experience.
**the link is just an for example.
***i have ver10.6 of this chines cable.
Thats the safe way, you need to block any type of updates from VCDS and you will be fine.

**also use the provided software only, IF, you are using x64 windows and the CD you have is a 32bits version, download Ross-tech software, install, extract the drivers, uninstall, and install the CD version, thing is, 32bits programs works, drivers donīt.**
__________________
|| F23T...So far 316whp / 359wtq || Autotech HPFP || RS4 Injectors || RS4 PRV || AFE Pro Dry S Intake || USP Motorsport RFD || DevilsOwn DVC-30 || 3" Catless DP || ECS Lightweight pulley || BSH Catch Can || BSH Solid Mounts ||
Fernas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 05:52 PM   #6
aircanman
Drag Racing Champion
 
aircanman's Avatar
 
Drives: VW Golf 07 TDi
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernas View Post
Thats the safe way, you need to block any type of updates from VCDS and you will be fine.

**also use the provided software only, IF, you are using x64 windows and the CD you have is a 32bits version, download Ross-tech software, install, extract the drivers, uninstall, and install the CD version, thing is, 32bits programs works, drivers donīt.**
Thanks for the help, looks like it may be a little too much for me, I am quite advanced computer wise but I don't want to break my car.

I have issues with misfiring and I know my dealer will just clear the codes and say it is ok, they have done it before.
__________________
Jetta 2007 2.0 TDI on its way .....
aircanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 10:31 AM   #7
Theresias
Just finished watching Fast&Fuzzynuts
 
Drives: Skoda Octavia RS 2.0T
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Magdeburg, Germany
Posts: 3
The cheapest way would be a VCDS License in combination with a Micro-CAN interface hardware which you can purchase locally from our distributors in the UK. The mentioned chinese cables are illegal clones/copies which besides the obvious theft are limited to older versions and blacklisted. You certainly can block updates but in the end you are stealing our work no matter what. Some seem to feel that is OK, but reality is if we'd steal your work you would be pissed too.
__________________
Sebastian @ Ross-Tech.com
Theresias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 10:37 AM   #8
beauy46
FIA GT Champion
 
beauy46's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 MK5 GTI
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 1,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernas View Post
Thats the safe way, you need to block any type of updates from VCDS and you will be fine.

**also use the provided software only, IF, you are using x64 windows and the CD you have is a 32bits version, download Ross-tech software, install, extract the drivers, uninstall, and install the CD version, thing is, 32bits programs works, drivers donīt.**
The Cable works. But not offered on Amazon anymore
__________________
"America is all about speed hot nasty badass speed" Eleanor Roosevelt 1938

"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy..." Benjamin Franklin
beauy46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 10:53 AM   #9
aircanman
Drag Racing Champion
 
aircanman's Avatar
 
Drives: VW Golf 07 TDi
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theresias View Post
The cheapest way would be a VCDS License in combination with a Micro-CAN interface hardware which you can purchase locally from our distributors in the UK. The mentioned chinese cables are illegal clones/copies which besides the obvious theft are limited to older versions and blacklisted. You certainly can block updates but in the end you are stealing our work no matter what. Some seem to feel that is OK, but reality is if we'd steal your work you would be pissed too.
I appreciate your input, could you supply me with a price and perhaps a link to where I can buy it from ?
__________________
Jetta 2007 2.0 TDI on its way .....
aircanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 03:19 PM   #10
lightningjack
FIA GT Champion
 
lightningjack's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 BMP GTI coupe
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 1,165
Check the classifieds on the forum too. People sell them all the time, but you have to be quick to get one if it's offered for a good price.

It's a worthwhile investment either way. When you figure what a dealer would charge you for any type of diagnostics, use this thing 2-3 times and you're ahead.
__________________
Lightning Jack APR Stage1 - VAGCOM
lightningjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 05:35 PM   #11
SuperchargedK20Z3
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: MKV GTI
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowClon3 View Post
http://www.dealextreme.com/p/vag-com...-134099?item=2

use only vcds that come with the cable meaning ver 11.10 , and don't use the cable and the internet at the same time(Wi-Fi OFF) or your cable won't work ever again.

*i write from personal experience.
**the link is just an for example.
***i have ver10.6 of this chines cable.
Will this work for reading/logging boost data?

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
SuperchargedK20Z3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 10:05 AM   #12
scaper28
Newbie
 
Drives: Golf MK5 GT TDI 2.0
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperchargedK20Z3 View Post
Will this work for reading/logging boost data?

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
YES
scaper28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 12:28 PM   #13
Britishav8tor
Oval Newbie
 
Drives: '07 VW GTI
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Frederick MD.
Posts: 133
A little off topic but thought I would add this seeing as I just had a run in with Ross Tech.
If you buy a authentic micro-can cable from ross-tech it will not let you erase DTC's from the car. When you try it says *warning you must upgrade to the professional cable* When I saw this I was like WTF??? I called and sure enough the micro can cable is only really good for reading data and logging not much else and I was told that for $130 I could upgrade ... wait WTF??? The mirco can is $250 and the pro cable is $350 that's $100 but they want $130 to upgrade?? Bullshit!! If I wanted to return there is a 20% restock fee, after talking some more it turns out that the reason is that each cable is individual licensed and can never be resold and they have "about 5000" in a closet at the shop .... WTF??? I was then told that is "well documented on the site that micro can doesn't erase DTC's .... again WTF it is not! The girl at Ross-tech said she would see if I could get it exchange at a cost of just the $100 plus shipping ($17) if that falls through I'm stuck with a cable that good at reading codes but if I want to erase then then I have to pull the battery or use my APR erase code function (which only clears Engine module codes). GRRR
Britishav8tor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 01:39 PM   #14
The Fed
Old Guys Rule
 
Drives: 2007 GTI DSG APR S1
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tampa Bay
Posts: 8,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Britishav8tor View Post
A little off topic but thought I would add this seeing as I just had a run in with Ross Tech.
If you buy a authentic micro-can cable from ross-tech it will not let you erase DTC's from the car. When you try it says *warning you must upgrade to the professional cable* When I saw this I was like WTF??? I called and sure enough the micro can cable is only really good for reading data and logging not much else and I was told that for $130 I could upgrade ... wait WTF??? The mirco can is $250 and the pro cable is $350 that's $100 but they want $130 to upgrade?? Bullshit!! If I wanted to return there is a 20% restock fee, after talking some more it turns out that the reason is that each cable is individual licensed and can never be resold and they have "about 5000" in a closet at the shop .... WTF??? I was then told that is "well documented on the site that micro can doesn't erase DTC's .... again WTF it is not! The girl at Ross-tech said she would see if I could get it exchange at a cost of just the $100 plus shipping ($17) if that falls through I'm stuck with a cable that good at reading codes but if I want to erase then then I have to pull the battery or use my APR erase code function (which only clears Engine module codes). GRRR
Since when? I don't have problems with my "$250" cable from R-T.
__________________
NRA Life Member
The Fed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 01:47 PM   #15
JetTurbo
geezer
 
JetTurbo's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 Golf R
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH USA
Posts: 2,635
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Fed View Post
Since when? I don't have problems with my "$250" cable form R-T.
x2
The comments would be accurate for a non-Ross Tech cable, not the Ross-Tech Micro-CAN.
You definitely have what you need to erase codes with a legit Micro-CAN cable.

If you are not the original purchaser, Yes, they do charge a $99 fee
to transfer a license to a new owner,
but that should not prevent the cable from working,
it is related to living within the letter of the license agreement
and receiving direct customer support.

Never heard of a cable upgrade fee if you are starting with a Micro-CAN,
seems about what they charge to swap / replace a malfunctioning cable,
last time I checked was 2010 (bought my cable in 2005).

Quote:
On 22–Sep–10 11:04 AM, "Andy Smith" <support@ross-tech.com> - wrote:

Jim,

We can offer you a flat rate repair for $129 plus shipping.
If you'd prefer to have us send the new one to you right away, then
there would be a pre-authorized core charge to be canceled as long as we
receive the old one within 4 weeks
...
__________________
2012 Golf R - 2008 Passat v6 4-mo - 2006 mk5 GTi 0-230k mi / 7 years SOLD
JetTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.