GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV


  VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com


 
Register
MYGOLF garage
Timeslips
Search
Members List
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Go Back   VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com > Technical Discussions > In Car Entertainment and Electronics (Audio / Video / Electronics / Etc..)
CTS Turbo

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2011, 09:08 AM   #1
VolksTDI
Go Kart Newbie
 
VolksTDI's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf TDI MK V
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 26
RNS510 Battery Drain

Hi guys,


I've got a 04 Golf MKV TDI , with the standard RCD300 radio.
I was thinking (when i get some spare cash) of replacing the radio to a RNS510.

I've heard rumors about there being battery drain if i swap these over?
What additional kit would i need to get to solve this?

Thanks

-------VolksTDI
VolksTDI is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
GolfMKV

Beitrag Sponsored Links

__________________
   
Old 09-14-2011, 10:20 AM   #2
penpal
Srs Bzns
 
penpal's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 GTI 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 899
you just need an updated canbus gateway to prevent the battery from being drained. most people just buy a new one, but i believe the canbus can be updated to be compatible with the rns. correct me if im wrong
penpal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 11:06 AM   #3
VolksTDI
Go Kart Newbie
 
VolksTDI's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf TDI MK V
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by penpal View Post
you just need an updated canbus gateway to prevent the battery from being drained. most people just buy a new one, but i believe the canbus can be updated to be compatible with the rns. correct me if im wrong
Oh right thanks for your reply,

Any idea of the prices of a new one.... Ballpark figure?
VolksTDI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 11:24 AM   #4
penpal
Srs Bzns
 
penpal's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 GTI 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 899
no clue especially since youre in ireland, id just call up your local dealer for a price
penpal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 01:26 PM   #5
Eddie-NL
Drag Racing Champion
 
Drives: Golf Mk5 GT Tdi 140
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 67
Here in the UK the price for a CAN Gateway from the dealer is 142.40

I have them for less
__________________
Vag-com and RNS Service Tool VIM and New pin
New 7N0 CAN Gateways 85 Supply & Fitted
New 7N0 CAN Gateways 70 Delivered (UK ONLY)
Location East Anglia NR31
Cruise Control 90 Supply and Fit / RNS510F 650
Eddie-NL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 05:15 PM   #6
aircanman
Drag Racing Champion
 
aircanman's Avatar
 
Drives: VW Golf 07 TDi
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie-NL View Post
Here in the UK the price for a CAN Gateway from the dealer is 142.40

I have them for less
Gutted you are not a little closer to Wales, want someone to supply and fit a canbus for me.
__________________
Jetta 2007 2.0 TDI on its way .....
aircanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 10:03 AM   #7
Timvgti
Touring Car Champion
 
Timvgti's Avatar
 
Drives: VW Golf MK5 GTI
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 219
If you have a <2007 Golf, your gateway is to old for the new rns510 models.
There are 2 options:

1) Buy a original B model rns510. Put firmware 1200 (or lower) on it and this way you don't have the battery drain. (firmwares 0900,1100,1200 are all original B version firmwares)
The problem is that with newer firmwares 1300,26xx,27xx,3xxx, etc. the 'vuci files' are changed and can't 'talk' with the older gateways. So the rns510 won't go in standby after a couple of minutes and draines the battery.

2) Buy and install a new gateway (you also need vagcom to program it).
Version 1k0907530 (1k0 907 530) of L revision or higher is required.

I bought a original RNS 510 B version two weeks ago, with fw1200, installed it, used vagcom to program things like the mfsw and cd-changer and everything works fine. My MKV GTI is from 06-2005 with the original (E version) gateway. No powerdrain...

There is also a 3rd option going to test it myself next week:
3) There are modified FW26xx and FW27xx files with the vuci code from 1200.
I've downloaded a modified FW2760 with 1200 vuci.

Found here: http://vwnavi.com/showthread.php/136...very-CD/page24

So you DON'T NEED A NEW GATEWAY (only if you really want the newest firmware or you can't find a B model)
Timvgti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 05:41 AM   #8
Golf-V-GT
Burn the lies
 
Golf-V-GT's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf MK5 GT TSI
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,302
But without 2660 and higher you dont have voice control , faster startup and Speed-limit display in the maps.With the newest FW you can create POIs by yourself :)

On (german) ebay the Gateways cost about 50 Euros !

I have a B with 2720...and a Gateway "Q"
__________________
OEM...and no fucking bling bling :)

MY BUILD-UP THREAD
Pictures from my .:Ride
Golf-V-GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 05:51 AM   #9
Timvgti
Touring Car Champion
 
Timvgti's Avatar
 
Drives: VW Golf MK5 GTI
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 219
And if you install FW2760 with 1200 vuci (the 'newest' modified firmware with 1200vuci I could find on the net...)?
Would you miss things?
Timvgti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 06:40 AM   #10
buckets
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
buckets's Avatar
 
Drives: a tractor
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timvgti View Post
2) Buy and install a new gateway (you also need vagcom to program it).
Version 1k0907530 (1k0 907 530) of L revision or higher is required.
Not exactly true Tim, I installed a revision C in an '05 golf here in Australia just recently and due to circumstances beyond my control, I had to gamble on a revision K gateway (the one I took out of my Jetta) . It worked fine, no power drain.
__________________
Graphite Blue TDI | DSG | Leather | Bi-Xenons | Custom LED inner tails | Black Forest TAI | OSIR Pod & New South Boost Gauge | Bluefin | InPro smoked indicators | Projector Fogs | RNS510 | Skoda Bluetooth | Eibach Pro kit Springs
buckets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:44 AM   #11
Golf-V-GT
Burn the lies
 
Golf-V-GT's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf MK5 GT TSI
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timvgti View Post
And if you install FW2760 with 1200 vuci (the 'newest' modified firmware with 1200vuci I could find on the net...)?
Would you miss things?
you can try,but i think you will miss fast startup and voice control.
Change the Gateway is the way it works 100% ...
__________________
OEM...and no fucking bling bling :)

MY BUILD-UP THREAD
Pictures from my .:Ride
Golf-V-GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 10:17 AM   #12
Timvgti
Touring Car Champion
 
Timvgti's Avatar
 
Drives: VW Golf MK5 GTI
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golf-V-GT View Post
you can try,but i think you will miss fast startup and voice control.
FW2760 features:
- Voice Control (requires microphone – see Volkswagen RNS 510 Microphone Connection for voice control)
- Speed Limit Display
- Stability Improvements
- Faster Startup (this has been improved on 2720)
- Display OPS and RVC at the same time
- SDHC 32 GB Support (HW04 and above)
- Display Off on extras tab
- Climatronic control if approriate climatronic fitted
- Clock display if RNS 510 swtiched off (buggy)
- Excluded roads (under route options)
- GPS coordinates entry
- Additional adjustments for video
- Larger RVC screen with transparent menus at the side

And yes: A new gateway is the best way to go, but if you want to save same money (at least 100 euro's?)...
Timvgti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 12:08 PM   #13
Golf-V-GT
Burn the lies
 
Golf-V-GT's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf MK5 GT TSI
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,302
so okay,vuci FW seems to be fine ! :)

i can only speak for me here in germany, the gateway is ~50 Euro/ebay ... idk. how its in US
__________________
OEM...and no fucking bling bling :)

MY BUILD-UP THREAD
Pictures from my .:Ride
Golf-V-GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 12:41 PM   #14
Timvgti
Touring Car Champion
 
Timvgti's Avatar
 
Drives: VW Golf MK5 GTI
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 219
I live in The Netherlands, so could get one from Germany if needed...
But if I can use the modified 2760 with 1200 vuci without a newer gateway, I can spend the money on sometging else (like I still want oem xenon headlights or hella xenonlooks)

I've burned the fw2760 with 1200 vuci on a dvd, but haven't tried to install it yet...
(I still hesitate, because everything works 100%, also te 'vehicle in motion' to watch dvd's, because I used a special Berto89 vim recode cd. Not sure if things like this still work after the update. Main reasing for me to update is because I want the faster startup+speed limit display+display off+sdhc support)
Timvgti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 01:04 PM   #15
Golf-V-GT
Burn the lies
 
Golf-V-GT's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf MK5 GT TSI
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,302
If dvd free wont work after uptade you can easily downgrade it :)
And as if you have got the VIM Free cd,its no problem to recode it.Works on all FWs.

VIM/mp3/maps will only disappear with a factory FW update like the 2680...

My next and last upgrade will also be Xenons.have the Hella Celis Xenons now,but i want the original Bi-Xenons :)
__________________
OEM...and no fucking bling bling :)

MY BUILD-UP THREAD
Pictures from my .:Ride
Golf-V-GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 01:56 PM   #16
Timvgti
Touring Car Champion
 
Timvgti's Avatar
 
Drives: VW Golf MK5 GTI
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 219
So you think that if I do the modified FW2760 with 1200vuci update, I don't loose my maps (going from fw1200)?
I ask this because I don't have a dvd the 7.1 or 7.2 maps, so if I do the firmware update and loose the map on my hdd, I can't use the navi anymore.
Timvgti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 03:25 PM   #17
Golf-V-GT
Burn the lies
 
Golf-V-GT's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf MK5 GT TSI
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,302
Idk about this modded version,but if it based on 2760 its no factory...and 1200 is also no factory

you can see if its factory if theres a "9"

CD --> #CD:P x x x . x x x . 9 x x

If theres a "3" ,its a normal update without delete anything!

But i dont know about modded version...
__________________
OEM...and no fucking bling bling :)

MY BUILD-UP THREAD
Pictures from my .:Ride
Golf-V-GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 06:44 PM   #18
aircanman
Drag Racing Champion
 
aircanman's Avatar
 
Drives: VW Golf 07 TDi
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 61
Someone who posted higher up in this thread says they have canbus gateways cheaper than VW, I think it is possible for them to be programmed before you receive it. So ask nicely and he may programme it for your car and all you need to do is install it then. Problem solved. 100 well spent.
__________________
Jetta 2007 2.0 TDI on its way .....
aircanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 05:25 AM   #19
Eddie-NL
Drag Racing Champion
 
Drives: Golf Mk5 GT Tdi 140
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 67
Apart from supply and fit, I have been selling them uncoded and precoded
75 delivered (UK)
85 Precoded and delivered
__________________
Vag-com and RNS Service Tool VIM and New pin
New 7N0 CAN Gateways 85 Supply & Fitted
New 7N0 CAN Gateways 70 Delivered (UK ONLY)
Location East Anglia NR31
Cruise Control 90 Supply and Fit / RNS510F 650
Eddie-NL is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.