GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV


  VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com


 
Register
MYGOLF garage
Timeslips
Search
Members List
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Go Back   VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com > Technical Discussions > Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-28-2011, 07:34 AM   #1
xplicit
FIA GT Champion
 
xplicit's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 GTI
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,098
Spark plugs for k04

I've passed 40k and I've recently put in the k04 so I'm about to change my plugs do I use the factory ones or what?
__________________
xplicit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:08 AM   #2
DarkX
Your Boss :P
 
DarkX's Avatar
 
Drives: GTI Edition 30 DSG
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: In a room with the door locked :P
Posts: 710
Send a message via MSN to DarkX
When I went for my tune the guys at REVO asked me and made it very important about whether I had recently replaced (not upgraded) my spark plugs. Told them yeah my new spark plugs don't have more than 500 km on them (few days prior to getting my tune I had my service done and replaced spark plugs), so they told me ok keep them since they're new, but get back here in about 10,000 km and we'll upgrade them. So yeah if you're due to replacing your stock you should upgrade as well. Don't remember exactly to what (they did mention it just don't remember) but tomorrow I'm gonna give them a call for some business and I can ask.
__________________

2007 Diamond Black ED30 DSG > REVO 9.6.9 (100oct RON) / DV rev. D / Maxogen ITG intake / Michelin Pilot Sport Cup tires 225.40.ZR18 Y / Zimmermann Cross Drilled front discs
330 bhp / 460 nm @ 1.8 bar (26 psi) peak & 1.6 bar (23 psi) hold

Build Thread / Pics & Techs / My intake sound & WOT videos / Gruppe K04
DarkX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:44 AM   #3
JamDawg
Formula 5000 Champion
 
Drives: 2009 GTI
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,228
Stock plugs are all you need to run in thses cars.

Read Chris's response about going one step colder. Half way down the page.
http://www.golfmkv.com/forums/showth...k+plugs+colder

Only upgrade that you might make is upgrading to iridium plugs because they will last longer.
JamDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 12:08 PM   #4
xplicit
FIA GT Champion
 
xplicit's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 GTI
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,098
He keeps talkin about stage 1 and 2 though so idk
__________________
xplicit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 12:17 PM   #5
GTImarcus
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: 2006 gti
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 93
I'm recently went Revo k04 and the car has never been running right. No codes or anything and I have 50k miles and haven't changed my plugs..I don't know of this could be the reason but I'm running 5* of timing which is super low and dynod 277whp and 260tq
GTImarcus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 12:27 PM   #6
JamDawg
Formula 5000 Champion
 
Drives: 2009 GTI
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,228
Quote:
Originally Posted by xplicit View Post
He keeps talkin about stage 1 and 2 though so idk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris@RT View Post
I've run 30+psi on my GT35R setup on stock plugs.

A stock turbo 2.0t doesn't need cooler plugs.
Way bigger than your KO4


Quote:
Originally Posted by GTImarcus View Post
I'm recently went Revo k04 and the car has never been running right. No codes or anything and I have 50k miles and haven't changed my plugs..I don't know of this could be the reason but I'm running 5* of timing which is super low and dynod 277whp and 260tq

Change your plugs and see. It only take 10 mins to change and cost a few bucks.
JamDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 12:29 PM   #7
GTImarcus
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: 2006 gti
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 93
how do i know about gapping and stuff though?
GTImarcus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 12:40 PM   #8
JamDawg
Formula 5000 Champion
 
Drives: 2009 GTI
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,228
Do a search on here to find the name of the stock NGK plug, buy, install. They are pre-gapped.

If I had to guess it sounds like you will need a spark plug socket as well.

I take that back, give me you K04, you don't deserve it
I'm kidding (a little)
JamDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 01:18 PM   #9
GTImarcus
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: 2006 gti
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 93
I actually installed my k04 and left the injectors to be installed at a shop :) I'm pretty knowledgable with most stuff on my car but I'm still learning
GTImarcus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.