GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV


  VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com


 
Register
MYGOLF garage
Timeslips
Search
Members List
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Go Back   VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com > Technical Discussions > Wheels / Tires / Suspension / Brakes sponsored by The Tire Rack

Support GolfMKV by clicking this link to do your tirerack shopping, THANKS!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2011, 12:04 AM   #1
TornadoGTI
Rally Car Champion
 
TornadoGTI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Tornado Red MKv GTI
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 383
brake pad warning indicator

at what point does this come one at? it just popped up on the ride home and was wondering ... the outside pads look fine ... although i havent gotten the chance to check the insdie ones ..
TornadoGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
GolfMKV

Beitrag Sponsored Links

__________________
   
Old 03-31-2011, 02:51 PM   #2
TornadoGTI
Rally Car Champion
 
TornadoGTI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Tornado Red MKv GTI
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 383
ok so now i drive it 20 minutes to work and there is no warning light at all .... any idea whats goin on here?
TornadoGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 03:10 PM   #3
SlowNLow
MOAR LOW
 
SlowNLow's Avatar
 
Drives: Lower Than You
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jerseyy
Posts: 2,189
loose break pad sensor? it happens to me if i hit a big pothole. the light will come on then go away eventually
__________________

DrivenMotive
Flickr
Quote:
Originally Posted by RSMark5 View Post
You guys are turning into the MKV Photography super friends.
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuanticGTI View Post
Nope never heard of a Ronaldo.
SlowNLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 12:10 PM   #4
Baldmonkey
Ready to race!
 
Drives: Mk5 Gt tdi (140)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: England
Posts: 18
If the pads look fine I would look at the sensor.
On mine the electronic connecting block between the brake pad and the wiring loom had cracked and when damp it would short creating a false warning on the dash.
Wiggle each sensor with the ignition on and ask someone to sit in the car to see if the light comes on the dash.
If it is the electronic block you can solder the wires back or replace the block completly. Do not believe the garage if they try to sell you a new wiring loom as mine tried It can be fixed easily.
I believe the pad has a wire part way through the wearing part of the pad, which when worn enough becomes exposed creating a complete circuit against the disc lighting up the warning light. So the light should be a constant.

Last edited by Baldmonkey; 04-01-2011 at 04:52 PM. Reason: Further information
Baldmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 06:02 PM   #5
TornadoGTI
Rally Car Champion
 
TornadoGTI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Tornado Red MKv GTI
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 383
so as i suspected ... the pads are fine and the light still ccome on ... im not one to solder wires or anything so i might replace the block ... any idea where i can go about getting one?
TornadoGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 07:03 AM   #6
4Motioner
4Motion, baby!
 
Drives: -07 Golf V 2.0tdi 4Motion
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 520
Clip the wire from the pad and solder or otherwise join the ends together, plug it into the car and the light will go out. Not a very professional solution, but works if you don't want to change the pads.
4Motioner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 03:17 PM   #7
Baldmonkey
Ready to race!
 
Drives: Mk5 Gt tdi (140)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: England
Posts: 18
Your local vw part department will have the right connector for a couple of quid and your local garage should be able to fit for an hour labour or wait until you replace the pads and ask them to fit it then. You can cut the wires and find a way to join them permanently, that will turn the light off but you will have to make mental note and replace the pads when they look low rather than relying on the light. Make sure you find out which sensor it is before cutting. I would borrow a soldering iron and practice on two bits of wire first. It really is not a hard job and it doesn't have to look nice just work.
Baldmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 04:31 PM   #8
TornadoGTI
Rally Car Champion
 
TornadoGTI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Tornado Red MKv GTI
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 383
ya cutting and joining the wires didnt work at all ... and theres only one sensor ...
TornadoGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 07:56 PM   #9
Baldmonkey
Ready to race!
 
Drives: Mk5 Gt tdi (140)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: England
Posts: 18
On my RHD the wear sensor is on the front passenger (left) side of the car and the wire comes directly from the brake pad to a electrical block around 8" from the caliper. The wiring on each wheel is for the ABS and comes from the back of each hub.
(I replaced the block and works fine).
Can you see if the block is broken and check that it was the fault?
The wire you cut which side of the block did you cut? Car or pad side?
Baldmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 09:43 PM   #10
TornadoGTI
Rally Car Champion
 
TornadoGTI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Tornado Red MKv GTI
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 383
i cut the pad side ...
TornadoGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 06:10 AM   #11
4Motioner
4Motion, baby!
 
Drives: -07 Golf V 2.0tdi 4Motion
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 520
Then it sounds like you have a bad connection somewhere else. Don't cut the car's wires though. I'd check the connectors first and clean them with some electrical cleaner.

And yeah, there's only one sensor and it's on the left side front wheel.
4Motioner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 06:40 AM   #12
Baldmonkey
Ready to race!
 
Drives: Mk5 Gt tdi (140)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: England
Posts: 18
Good, you can always buy new pads to reconnect that. Did you wiggle the connector to see if the dash light would flicker to confirm that is the issue? I have been looking at the wiring diagram and am wondering if it could not be the hand brake switch? This is located under the central console between the seats. Two star screws behind the hand brake and one in the cup holder. Lift the plastic out of the way and wiggle those wires. Just a thought.
Baldmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 08:24 AM   #13
drtechy
How you doin?
 
Drives: 2008 TR GTI
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MO
Posts: 6,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowNLow View Post
loose break pad sensor? it happens to me if i hit a big pothole. the light will come on then go away eventually
yea I'm with ya on this, was doing some backroading yesterday and my front right tire lifted over a hill, my abs went crazy and my brake pad sensor went off. Didn't turn off till this morning. I know my pads are fine though.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by A1an View Post
Poke and stretch your girlfriend...not your car. Don't be that guy.
drtechy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.