GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Front power windows don't work at all

adamgti

Trust me, I'm an engineer
Car(s)
07 CW GTI 4 dr
Ok so I'm having a frustrating problem. I have a 4 door, and both driver and passenger windows don't work at all, using either the driver controls, the passenger control, or the keyfob. The back windows go down using the driver controls as well as the keyfob. When trying to open/close, a clicking noise can be heard coming from each window. Checked every fuse in the car and they are all good.

This happened in the middle of a drive, the passenger window was opened and closed fine, and a few minutes later when I tried to open my window it wouldn't work, and the passenger lost control of their window as well.

Any ideas what I should check next? Not really good with car electronics. Could both motors have gone out at the same time? That seems unlikely. As for mods, I have a Dension Gateway hooked up to my factory head unit, been there for about 3 months, and a subwoofer that's tapped into the rear window wiper fuse, that's been there for 2+ years. Other than those things the electrical system is untouched.

Would really appreciate any help on this. Thanks guys.

adamgti

Car(s)
07 CW GTI 4 dr
I haven't done anything in depth yet, don't have time until the weekend but will be pulling apart the door and hitting everything with a multimeter if this hasn't resolved itself by then.

But one interesting development today that supports it being a loose wire somewhere: before I left work I pulled the window fuse again just to quadruple check it, and it was fine, so I put it back, and when I did I was able to use the windows, rolled both front ones down and back up, and then they stopped working again. So I'll be starting at the fuse panel and working my way out from there looking for any loose connections I guess.

bounty123

Passed Driver's Ed
Mines been like this for weeks!Seems to randomly work and then just stop!