GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV


  VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com


 
Register
MYGOLF garage
Timeslips
Search
Members List
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Go Back   VW GTI Forum / VW Rabbit Forum / VW R32 Forum / VW Golf Forum - Golfmkv.com > Technical Discussions > Wheels / Tires / Suspension / Brakes sponsored by The Tire Rack

Support GolfMKV by clicking this link to do your tirerack shopping, THANKS!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2010, 08:55 PM   #1
Zuhaib
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: S500, HD Softail 2005
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 88
How to troubleshoot a TPMS fault (01521)

Hey guys,

Well I have a weird issue, a few days ago I dropped off my car (07 GTI, with 51k on the clock so just out of warranty) for service at a indy shop for oil change and found a nail in the tire. They had the car sent out to a tire shop to get repaired and came back fine. After getting home, I took the car out and on the freeway had the tire warning flashing at me.
Taking it in to the shop they first said it could be the battery dead, but the tire shop cant be. So the first shop ran VAG-Com and came up with this error.

01521 Sensor for Tire Pressure
004- No Signal/Communication
Freeze Frame:
Fault Status: 01110100
Fault Priority: 4
Fault Frequency: 1

Now the problem is according to this http://wiki.ross-tech.com/index.php/01521 it should have no data on what tire it is. But speaking wit the dealer they "claim" if they run the code check they can tell me but its $90. The tire shop is going to try to take a stab at it tomorrow morning but the guy said he is not sure how to test to see if its the tire they repaired that failed or just over time it failed on a different tire.
What to you guys think I should do? Just leave it in the hands of the tire shop and see if they can figure, or take to the indy shop and have them try out the idea by ross tech on inflating the tire and checking the values. If its the tire they fixed I want them to make it better, if its something else then I will just ask the indy shop to turn off TPMS.
Thanks,
Zuhaib
Zuhaib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 11:15 PM   #2
siliconcenturion
Formula 5000 Driver
 
Drives: 2009 GTI MKV
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Norcal, 94043
Posts: 1,312
Post in the VAGCOM forum over at the 'tex. If the tire still holds air, just disable TPMS.
siliconcenturion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 03:21 AM   #3
Zuhaib
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: S500, HD Softail 2005
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 88
I would do that if it turns out it was not the shops doing that the TPMS failed, but I have a feeling they broke something during the tire repair.
Zuhaib is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.