GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Oem speaker crossover

08r32SC

I'm new to this so bear with me. If I'm replacing my factory speaker with speakers with built-in crossovers whats the best way to bypass the oem crossover?

funkyronster

Car(s)
Golk Mk5
I know this is an old post, but it came up in a google search, so here is my solution if others need it.

My Golf GT had a 3 way front door speaker system with built in crossover. I wanted to replace with a 2 way higher quality Focal speaker system comprising of woofer/mid and tweeter. This meant the original xover had to be bypassed, so the speakers could be driven directly from the head unit. I didn't want to rip anything out or cut the existing wiring loom, in case the car had to be reverted to standard for sale in the future. here's how I did it.
I identified the main feed wires from the head unit using a multimeter set to continuity, also the output wires from the VW xover to the speakers.
Having identified the pins, all I did was unplug the xover, and then bridged the input wires to the woofer and tweeter (ignoring the mid).
It looks untidy, but this is version one just to prove it works. As you can see from the photo, you just have to bridge 3 connections on each row, the left 2 pins are the speaker feed from the HU, the next 2 are to the woofer, and the 2 rightmost pins are the tweeter. I just put copper wire into the plug and shorted all 3 together. The top row are the pos connections, the bottom row is the negs.
The result is that the speaker output from the HU is fed directly to the speakers. It sounds great, but that is down to the speakers you choose of course.
If the car is ever sold, all I have to do is replace the original speakers - woofer, mid and tweeter, remove the copper bridges, and plug back into the original crossover - all back to standard.
IMG_9899.jpg
IMG_9898 2.jpg

funkyronster

Car(s)
Golk Mk5