PDA

View Full Version : Fail inspection for TPMS Light??


dubson
07-07-2008, 12:42 PM
Anyone know if i'll fail in NJ for having the TPMS light on if I have aftermarket wheels?

07Noside
07-07-2008, 12:43 PM
You shouldn't plus you shouldn't have inspection for at least a few more years.

ReflexMkV
07-07-2008, 12:44 PM
I dunno...It would be total bullshit IMO if you did though. Do you know someone with VAGCOM? They could turn that shit off for you.

dubson
07-07-2008, 12:47 PM
I dunno...It would be total bullshit IMO if you did though. Do you know someone with VAGCOM? They could turn that shit off for you.

But then when they hook it up to OBD they'll see it's been messed with, won't they?

dubson
07-07-2008, 12:47 PM
You shouldn't plus you shouldn't have inspection for at least a few more years.

I have two weeks. Bought my car CPO from palisades VW so it needs to be inspected.

ReflexMkV
07-07-2008, 12:49 PM
They=Who? It is a pretty insignificant piece of code. Someone would have to be looking for it, specifically, to know it had been altered.

07Noside
07-07-2008, 12:49 PM
I have two weeks. Bought my car CPO from palisades VW so it needs to be inspected.

Don't worry about it unless they say anything and if they do they are really some jack asses.

ReflexMkV
07-07-2008, 12:50 PM
if they do they are really some jack asses.

:word:

dubson
07-07-2008, 12:53 PM
:word:

Im getting it down at the state place. And won't messin with stuff with vagcom throw a non readiness code (or whatever the hell it is?)

ReflexMkV
07-07-2008, 12:55 PM
Im getting it down at the state place. And won't messin with stuff with vagcom throw a non readiness code (or whatever the hell it is?)

Nope no codes. :thumbsup: Many of the changes you make with VAGCOM are just options that are available in other markets.

dubson
07-07-2008, 01:05 PM
Nope no codes. :thumbsup: Many of the changes you make with VAGCOM are just options that are available in other markets.

So there's a change to turn off TPMS completely, or just turn the light off?

ReflexMkV
07-07-2008, 01:12 PM
IIRC it disables TPMS completely.

dubson
07-07-2008, 02:10 PM
IIRC it disables TPMS completely.



FTW! You don't know how to do it, do you?

Call.me.Junior
07-07-2008, 02:13 PM
so they would try to fail you because your "tire pressure was too low"?

dubson
07-07-2008, 02:20 PM
so they would try to fail you because your "tire pressure was too low"?

In NY, i'm pretty sure any lights on and you fail, and I wasn't sure how strict NJ is for dumb stuff like tpms

plus it's not that my tire pressure is too low, I just don't have the sensors in my CH's

Call.me.Junior
07-07-2008, 02:25 PM
i understand that it's cause you don't have the sensors in your CH's.... i would think hope someone with any knowledge of newer vehicles would understand what that light means and write it off as nothing.

JeepNGLI
07-07-2008, 07:50 PM
I can take car of those TPMS lights for you if you want. PM me.

dubson
07-07-2008, 08:19 PM
I can take car of those TPMS lights for you if you want. PM me.

you don't happen to be coming to next sundays IKEA gtg, are you???